Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is wonderful comfort food. The only change I made was adding garlic to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Was not worth the effort! I even added a bay leaf, salt, chicken bouillon granules, a thickening sauce; still came out bland and watery. I am use to my grandmas recipe which is really creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESDALE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I made this for my husband and his family to take with them on their guys only annual hunting trip. Apparently it was a huge hit and now they've requested it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I only used the noodle part of the recipe and found the dough really easy to work with compared to the recipe I had been using. I like adding the dry in gredients into the egg/water mixture rather than the other way around- makes it much easier to get the proportions right. I used the noodles to make noodle 'dumplings,' rolling out the dough on a floured cloth and cutting in strips which I then pinched off directly into the boiling broth. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Delish! This recipe was fantastic. I would suggets a cup more broth as it was not as soupy as we like. I served it over mashed potatoes-when in Idaho do as the Idahoans do-YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This recipe was great! I didn't have any eggs, so I couldn't try the noodles, but I did added 1/2 pound of cooked bow-tie pasta and it worked out nice. Next time I will try the noodles. Definitely a great fall recipe to warm you up on a cold evening! I cut some day-old bread into slices and added a tiny bit of garlic butter on top; toasted and served the crunchy garlic crisps with the hot soup. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILoveAardvarks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Sherman, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
We LOVED this recipe. The "noodles" were terrific. I used chicken breast because that's what was in the frig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is a good chicken stew. I prefer to use lots of sliced carrots instead of a shredded carrot. Beware, the noodles are kind of like German spaetzle or drop noodles, not big biscuity dumplings or rolled out egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
My husband and I were both born and raised in the south and grew up on homemade chicken and dumplings (not from a can) and this is by far the worst I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
We loved this recipe! I made it with the following: -2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed -2 stalks celery, chopped -4 large carrots, sliced -1/2 of a large, yellow onion, finely diced -2 quarts water, plus 2 Tbsp chicken broth powder (from an Amish bulk foods market) -1/2 tsp black pepper I did not strain the soup. Also, I simmered it for an hour before adding the noodles. The texture of the little noodles was great! They didn't get the least bit soggy, even after reheating the leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States