Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
We LOVED this recipe. The "noodles" were terrific. I used chicken breast because that's what was in the frig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is a good chicken stew. I prefer to use lots of sliced carrots instead of a shredded carrot. Beware, the noodles are kind of like German spaetzle or drop noodles, not big biscuity dumplings or rolled out egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
My husband and I were both born and raised in the south and grew up on homemade chicken and dumplings (not from a can) and this is by far the worst I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
We loved this recipe! I made it with the following: -2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed -2 stalks celery, chopped -4 large carrots, sliced -1/2 of a large, yellow onion, finely diced -2 quarts water, plus 2 Tbsp chicken broth powder (from an Amish bulk foods market) -1/2 tsp black pepper I did not strain the soup. Also, I simmered it for an hour before adding the noodles. The texture of the little noodles was great! They didn't get the least bit soggy, even after reheating the leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
We loved this recipe. Delicious flavor, especially the nice addition of the celery tops. (We usually dry ours, so I used some dried ones I had on hand.) I rolled out the noodles and cut in thin strips. Wonderful. Will make again, by family request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
My only complaints are that (1) though I followed the recipe my noodle dough was not the right consistency and (2) the recipe didn't call for enough salt. I put some rice and extra salt, and ended up with a delicious Chicken and Rice Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tt2b123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I use this recipe about once a month. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
THIS IS THE TASTE I WAS LOOKING FOR!!! This is the perfect noodle recipe! Myself, I always use garlic salt in my noodles, but that's just because of our personal taste. Yes, you must use light & dark meat or you won't get the same rich taste. Also, don't worry if your noodles aren't perfect! Roll them out as very thin as you can & use a pizza cutter, or spin little pieces out in your hands or even drop little nut-size balls in....The kids love to help with this. They may take a little longer to cook, but food should be fun! And doesn't that make it more "home-made"? Great recipe, the taste of Grandma's house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Stafford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
The chicken was AWESOME! I did baking mix dumplings as I didn't have eggs and flour - but I added the oil to baking mix with milk - YUM. I'll be saving this for winter time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a new and quick recipe for me beacause my grandchildren would pick out the cooked celery and onion before eating and so straining the large pieces out worked great. I used the large no-yolk noodles after cooking in chicken broth, added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the finished product and got raves from all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States