Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Very easy to follow recipe! I only had chicken breast on hand, and the stock was still wonderful! Everyone loved it! I can't wait to finish off this batch, so I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I've never cooked a whole chicken before, so this recipe was kind of a big step for me. I used 2 16-oz bags of frozen noodles rather than making them, and the end result was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I will make this often, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe is exactly what I had hoped. It is so fantastic and worth the work. The noodles where a bit tricky to get to be not to sticky to roll out. I doubled the amount of chicken broth and still did not have enough broth to use all of the noodles. I recommend cutting the noodle recipe in half. I have a family of 6 and I still have left overs. I did serve over mashed potatoes like some one else suggested. Talk about the ultimate comfort food. I also took others advice and added poultry seasoning, a bay leaf, and 3 T. cornstarch mixed with cold water to thicken. My family raved. I loved the leftovers just as much today. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I loved the recipe, i did alternate a few things, as i was only making this for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
now i'm no chicken fan,but this reminded me of my moms chicken soup & everyone loved.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is really more Chicken & Dumplings than noodles but no matter what you call it, it is DELICIOUS. Classic tasting. Serve it over mashed potatoes - it'll warm your bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This soup was very tasty! I had never made homemade noodles before and I was a little nervous, but it turned out great! I used about 4-5 leftover chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. I would definaltey make this again, but i would probably add more liquid as i had alot of leftover noodle dough that i had to toss b/c it wouldn't fit. Very tasty reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! I finally make better soup than my mother-in-law! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. It does need some extra spice(s). A little thyme might be a good added flavoring. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Just like Grandmas! I had never tried to make homemade noodles before, but this recipe was so easy. I made this for our family Christmas potluck and got rave reviews. I added a little poultry seasoning and boullion granules to the chicken broth and cooked most of the day. An instant favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States