Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I have been looking for a flavorful Chicken and Dumpling recipe for awhile and this is the best one I've tried. I did add chicken boullion, poultry seasoning, onion powder, a little bit of seasoned salt, and more pepper. I wanted it less soupy so I halved the broth and used the same amount of noodles and chicken. That worked out great. The homemade noodles, although time consuming to prepare, were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Oh my! This is amazing! You will need some other spices, I used seasoning salt which was awesome! The noodles took a while, but were well worth it! I stacked them together with liberal flouring between levels they didn't stick at all. This is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The only change I made was adding a bay leaf while cooking. I've never made noodles before and these turned out great. They were a bit of a pain to make, but they tasted better than store bought. Next time we make this, I'll add extra seasoning and probably double the noodles. It turned out more like chicken noodle soup than chicken and noodles. still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Way too bland for me. I even added extra black pepper and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These noodles were wonderful!!! My father used to make homemade noodles when I was growing up and I always thought that it would be too hard to do. What a surprise that it was so easy and so delicious! My husband said that they were the best he had ever tasted, which is a huge compliment because his sister in law makes some awesome homemade noodles with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
THis is and excellent and very easy meal, turkey or chicken can be used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made a hole pot and only have about one serving left. This was a huge success. I did make it with a leftover chicken carcass that had one breast left, one box of broth, 2 boxes of water and 8 bullion cubes, and dried parsley. It was heavy on the noodles, but very good. This is definitely a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was a good start for this dish. I made changes so I didn't give 5 Stars. I added garlic and used a different noodle recipe, and added a few other spices,but this was a good foundation for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This recipe is sooo close to my grandmother's it's scary. I have alwas wanted to make Chicken and Noodles like hers, but thought it may be difficult. This were so easy to make, the dough rolled out perfect, and the hubby raved after he ate 3/4 the pot. I will make this again, probably with extra noodles because they were SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States