Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
When I make my chicken noodle soup I take the skin off the chicken to help cut the grease. Saute onions, celery and garlic in EEVO, add generous amount of salt and pepper. Add 2 tlb. of flour to the vegetables, cook for 1 minute to cook the flour. Slowely add 2 cups chicken stock and 2 cups of water. Add chicken, cover and bring to a boil. Turn down to simmer and cook until chicken is tender. Remove chicken and let cool. Cook noodels in seperate pan with salted boiling water. While noodels cook debone chicken and return to chicken broth and vegetables. Taste as you go and season to your liking. Cook noodels 2 minutes less than the direction, drain and add to soup mixture. Noodels will continue to cook in the soup mixture. Add cornbread and you have a hot delicious meal. . . Enjoy. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I'm making this now after reading the reviews. The directions are not clear for a novice and the picture in no way resembles the ingredients. I'm combining others' suggestions so I do hope it will be as good as all of yours and look as appealing as the pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was my first time making homemade noodles, and they came out so delicious and chewy. The entire recipe was really easy to make. I'll be making it many times in the future. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very good recipe....thickened with corn starch. Served over mashed potatoes. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clchoosiers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I love this recipe and go back to it every time I'm craving chicken and noodles. Wouldn't change one thing about this recipe - love it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was delicious and super easy with a rotisserie chicken from the store! The noodles were not that difficult, the waiting was hardest! I did let them dry a good hour after i made them. We will make this again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
It's a pretty good baseline recipe for chicken and NOODLES (these aren't dumplings). I do suggest and stress the fact that you should roll the dough out and let it dry on a flour covered counter. Then cut them into strips and let them dry more. I normally dry them on the counter over night. The flour on the noodles will also act as a thickener so don't worry .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckinfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Absolutely amazing how EASY and DELICIOUS this recipe is! I LOVE IT. I have made it many times since I first discovered it and it's been a huge hit every time. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I have been looking for a flavorful Chicken and Dumpling recipe for awhile and this is the best one I've tried. I did add chicken boullion, poultry seasoning, onion powder, a little bit of seasoned salt, and more pepper. I wanted it less soupy so I halved the broth and used the same amount of noodles and chicken. That worked out great. The homemade noodles, although time consuming to prepare, were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States