Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe is a very basic chicken and noodle recipe. There is nothing wrong with it, but it is lacking sophistication. It may also be too bland unless the chicken is very flavorful. Here are my suggestions: Double the veggies and if broth lacks flavor add 1 or 2 bullion cubes. Omit salt until the end if you add bullion. For spices, you can use a pinch of garlic or ginger, as well as fresh parsley instead of dried. If you want something different add a little red pepper (cayenne) Not enough to make it hot, just enough to give it a little zip. Finally, you can also 1 tsp. garlic, 1/2 tsp. of paprika, 2 TBLS. milk stirred into a tablespoon of sour cream and cayenne pepper to taste. Stir into the broth for a Hungarian twist on this traditional dish. Just start with the basic recipe each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! I think the title is misleading, though....It IS a soup, at least, for me! When I reflect on all the times I have made chicken soup in a crock (and, make no mistake, I LOVE crock cooking!), this is the best and the easiest!!!!!!!! I am a widow, and can make this for two, at the max. THANKS, SOOOO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Like others I ground in some nutmeg and a powdered bay leaf. Being lazy I cut the dough into 1x1" with a pizza cutter and called them dumplins. made a near perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Personally I would not reuse carrots and celery that have been cooked for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
follow the recipe people the bones are left in for a reason all recipes are not created equal just like a cake needs a different temp in some altitudes Some foods will not taste the same in every state even if the same person is preparing the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLFUSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is a very tasty and easy recipe. I have made this in the past and again tonight, with a few changes as I didn't have all of the fixen's but that is one of the great reason to use this recipe, as it is very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As with most recipes on this site, it takes quite a bit longer to make...3 hours to be exact. But it was delicious, and the husband said it was a keeper. I used a whole chicken that had been smoked with apple pellets which gave it an interesting smoked flavor. This was my first attempt at making noodles, so I didn't know what to expect. I rolled them out on my pastry board and cut into strips with a pizza cutter...simple, but they were a bit sticky, and I had used at least 3 1/2 cups flour. I sprinkled flour over the noodles as I scrapped the strips off of the board and let them dry while I de-boned the chicken. The noodles probably could have been rolled out thinner, but it worked OK. The consistency was more like soup; I will thicken the left overs with cornstarch/water mixture. Will definitely make this again, but allow more time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
A big OOHRAH! tasted good AND you made everything including the noodles from scratch unlike a lot of so-called "recipes" that do nothing more than combine store bought stuff together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesty Puller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It sounds delicious, but I'm confused: how do you make chickpea sized noodles? Two different shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe was very tasty. The fun thing about this one is that you can turn the leftovers into other dishes, or just eat it the way you cooked it. I had a lot of fun turning this into soup, casserole, and using it just the way it was made. I didn't make my noodles from scratch either, I saved some time, and bought egg noodles from the frozen section of a local grocery store. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States