Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
The dumplings got to be a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
if not overcooked very good and moist, reminds me of the kind that i used to get WAy down south!!! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I'm a new wife and I was able to whip this up easily, and It came out GREAT!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My Family really enjoyed this wonderful meal, I added Two chopped med. sized carrots which brought out more color and flavor. I'm sure going to make this agian. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This tasted so good!! I have tried other dumpling recipies and this is the first that has turned out. I used half the amount of chicken, salted butter and about 1/2 tsp dried parsley. I didn't understand what veggie liquid is. I just left the veggies and chicken in, took out the dumplings, and added the water/flour mixture. I LOVED this and my picky 2 year old even ate the dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was a good basic recipe but I did change a few things. First of all, I never, EVER boil a chicken. That's the quickest way of drying it out. Although it takes longer, I roast my chicken the day before, shred the meat and then make my stock with the bones. I placed my vegies into a clean pot with oil and sauteed. I then added flour to make a roux, so that I wouldn't have to thicken later on. After simmering the stew I made my own dumplings using buttermilk and eggs mixed together and then folded the liquid into the self rising flour. The folding process kept the dumplings light and airy. Just before I placed the dumplings into the stew I added my meat back in. This was so comforting and the gang absolutely loved it on yet another snowy N.J. spring? day. Thank you Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I thought this was good and easy. Most dumpling recipes are too salty this one is not. But when making the gravy it says to add remaining flour, what remaining flour? I used it all for the dumplings, not a big problem I just used 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I tried it and loved it. I usually make chicken pastry. This was similar, but different enough to make instead of pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I actually used a bit over four pounds of chicken. It turned out great! I'm not sure if it's the addition of baking powder or unsalted butter in the dumplings, but these were the best I've tried. It was added to my recipe box and will get a lot of attention in my house. Very, very good! Enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Being a Mexican cook I always feared cooking this dish but my partner talked me into it and boy am I happy. I used my own homemade stock (heavy on veggies, garlic, and spices) and used whole wheat flour to make it healthier and I couldn't believe what I had been missing. This shall now be a fixture in my home cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States