Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe makes a very nice stick-to-your-ribs meal. My dumplings were a little too big and light. Not a real problem. I made a roux and added back to the broth (we frequently make our own), could have been thicker. I used skin on legs and thighs, removed and skinned them after awhile and replaced. Reminds me of Mom's, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
FINALLY a good chicken & dumplings recipe! This is the 4th one I tried. I was let down by the shortcut recipes that use canned soups and biscuits. My family loved this recipe. I cut the recipe down to 8 servings. I used chicken thighs with the bones and skin because it really adds good flavor. I followed the recipe except I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried. The conversion rate is for every 3 teaspoons of fresh herbs you will use 1 teaspoon dry. One reviewer said the dumplings were dry. I made several size dumplings and found if too large the middles tend to be dry. The perfect size seemed to be a spoonful about the size of a small walnut. My family loves dumplings so I made extra. The dumplings use the broth so the more dumplings the less broth left for your gravy. Next time I will use more broth to start. At this point you will take out the dumplings and chicken. I pulled apart my chicken, removed the bones and skin and returned the chicken to the pot. When it says to press out the “veggie liquid” that means to strain your juices with a strainer then press the onions and celery in the strainer so you don’t have large hunks in your gravy but still have the juices and flavor from them, then dispose of the remnants from the strainer. The recipe did not designate how much flour to add to thicken the broth to gravy. I just went a tablespoon at a time and whisked it in and waited a minute and repeated till it thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Amazing! The stock takes a little bit of time to get right but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Dupor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Directions all over the place, look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe is so YUMMY!!! I was looking for a chicken dumpling recipe to make out of a chicken I cooked in my crock pot the day before and this one caught my eye. It is so easy to make and the dumplings came out moist and flavorful. My family loved it and my husband said my chicken and dumplings were better than his grandmother's. Since she is an amazing cook, this is the best compliment I have ever received from him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Yummy. I put 2 TB butter with 1/4 c. flour to make a roux. Then I added the chicken broth and chicken pieces. AFter 10 minutes, I added some steamed carrot pieces I'd had on hand. For the biscuits I added yogurt instead of milk and didn't cut in butter. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I used the "chicken" part of this recipe, and made my own dumplings using Bisquick. we all really liked the flavor of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Followed other review and they were right . .it is better than Cracker Barrel and much easier . . .i almost dont want to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I think the dumplings in this recipe are great. The best I have found. I however, had a tough time with the other seasonings. It didnt turn out well for me at all. Im sure that the problem is on my side and that I did something wrong. I will probably try again just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I really was here looking for a good 'dumpling' recipe as got the base down well. I like mine a little less like broth and more of a gravy for the base. So I just added a touch more flour. That was fine. I'm sorry, but I did not like the dumpling recipe. I did it just as said, and they came out so dense....like 'Klumplings' not dumplings. So, I made up another batch right away, folding my flour mixture into the wet ingrediants [also doubled the amount of milk] and they were only slightly better the second time. So frustrating! When I was little, my grandma used to take me to a restaurant on the south side of Chicago named "Shay Joey's" [sp?]. They had dumplings there that were light and fluffy - like a fresh baked dinner roll!!! They were amazing!! I need to find a recipe like that! Maybe I should be looking for a recipe that contains yeast?? I'll still be book-marking this recipe though. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States