Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It does not tell you to divide the flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The recipe tastes wonderful. However the written directions aren't complete. Make sure you watch the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My new go-to recipe for dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I think the portions are way off on this. I added carrots for color and flavor, and left all the veggies in. The color makes it more appetizing. Good dumplings! Simmered dumplings for 10 minutes uncovered, and then 10 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The recipe says to make dumplings in 6 large spoonfuls. I don't understand. 6 dumplings for 20 servings? I am anxious to try this because it sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I played with this recipe quite a bit, but it's a good basic place to start. I made a small batch, using one giant chicken breast, and made it with a little more liquid than the cut-down recipe suggested. I did not remove the vegetables and instead pureed the stock with an immersion blender before adding any flour to thicken. Instead of milk I used heavy cream in the dumplings (because I needed to use it up) and also added some extra cream to the stock for extra creaminess. Also I made small, walnut sized dumplings rather than large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
The flavor was great. I roasted my chicken first like one reviewer. BUT!!! I didn't watch the video I just followed the recipe. I added all the flour to the dumplings because it never specified how much!! I knew they were too dry. Then I read that some flour was to go into the gravy. Once again..it doesn't say how much! Should have used Bisquick for goodness sakes! And it would never serve 20!! What the heck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I scaled this down to a family of three and still had leftovers. I just swamped everything for boneless so we didn't have to pick those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Riemer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe, I did put my own twist on it. I seared my chicken first then added my chicken stock and veggies and baked instead of boiling the chicken. This gave it color and more flavor. I also added rosemary and thyme. Then followed the rest of the original recipe . It tured out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I tried this, it was my first time making home made dumplings, Turned out ok, they were not quite as fluffy as I would have liked. I had to add additional milk & flour to thicken the gravy. I would try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States