Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
One of my favorite recipes. My husband said it was just what he needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I spent lot of time looking for a Dumpling Recipe that I remember Mom making. Hers were the fluffy ones...not the rolled out ones. I know she sometimes used baking mix from the store but I had none. These were delicious, tender and fluffy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't think that the ingredients were in the right proportions for the dumplings. I measure exactly in all my recipes. I had a hard time getting the dough to come together and knew they were not going to have the right texture for old fashioned dumplings. They were way too coarse and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I was looking for a recipe like my mother's & this was it. Made my own stock w/the chicken, onions & celery ahead of time & cooled, removed fat & deboned. Scooped celery and onions out & added fresh. Simmered all together, adding baby carrots & frozen green beans. Did not make gravy ~ doesn't need it. Dumplings were delicious & family loved. This one's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The overall taste seemed fine... Seemed salty, but I used regular butter instead of unsalted butter for the dumplings, which for all I know messed the whlel thing up... but the dumplings were awful! I guess I didn't understand the directions, but it said it will be crumbly after mixing everything together and then to spoon it in... so it stayed crumbly and was not appetizing at all - looks or taste. I'd appreciate for any veterans of this recipe if they could explain the dumpling part to me b/c it was nothing like any dumplings I have ever made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe makes a very nice stick-to-your-ribs meal. My dumplings were a little too big and light. Not a real problem. I made a roux and added back to the broth (we frequently make our own), could have been thicker. I used skin on legs and thighs, removed and skinned them after awhile and replaced. Reminds me of Mom's, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
FINALLY a good chicken & dumplings recipe! This is the 4th one I tried. I was let down by the shortcut recipes that use canned soups and biscuits. My family loved this recipe. I cut the recipe down to 8 servings. I used chicken thighs with the bones and skin because it really adds good flavor. I followed the recipe except I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried. The conversion rate is for every 3 teaspoons of fresh herbs you will use 1 teaspoon dry. One reviewer said the dumplings were dry. I made several size dumplings and found if too large the middles tend to be dry. The perfect size seemed to be a spoonful about the size of a small walnut. My family loves dumplings so I made extra. The dumplings use the broth so the more dumplings the less broth left for your gravy. Next time I will use more broth to start. At this point you will take out the dumplings and chicken. I pulled apart my chicken, removed the bones and skin and returned the chicken to the pot. When it says to press out the “veggie liquid” that means to strain your juices with a strainer then press the onions and celery in the strainer so you don’t have large hunks in your gravy but still have the juices and flavor from them, then dispose of the remnants from the strainer. The recipe did not designate how much flour to add to thicken the broth to gravy. I just went a tablespoon at a time and whisked it in and waited a minute and repeated till it thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Amazing! The stock takes a little bit of time to get right but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Dupor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Directions all over the place, look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe is so YUMMY!!! I was looking for a chicken dumpling recipe to make out of a chicken I cooked in my crock pot the day before and this one caught my eye. It is so easy to make and the dumplings came out moist and flavorful. My family loved it and my husband said my chicken and dumplings were better than his grandmother's. Since she is an amazing cook, this is the best compliment I have ever received from him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States