Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The dumplings were so good, just how I like them. I went crazy & added a bit of thinly chopped green onion in the dumpling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zackiepoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Changed it up a little because I started by making it a chicken/leftover-turkey dumpling project. I used chicken broth and used my leftover turkey gravy as well. And as others did I added two full carrots. My family agreed they liked the addition of the carrots. Dumplings were perfect. Just remember that lid on the simmer the last ten minutes. Two family members took on bowls for lunches tomorrow. Still stuck on the perfect complement side dish. thinking maybe cucumber salad or a dessert dish of vegetable jello with lime. Topped with off with gourmet coffees, not or cold. Our family and friends loved it and we joined in to creat it. Cooking should be fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty & Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
One of my favorite recipes. My husband said it was just what he needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I spent lot of time looking for a Dumpling Recipe that I remember Mom making. Hers were the fluffy ones...not the rolled out ones. I know she sometimes used baking mix from the store but I had none. These were delicious, tender and fluffy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't think that the ingredients were in the right proportions for the dumplings. I measure exactly in all my recipes. I had a hard time getting the dough to come together and knew they were not going to have the right texture for old fashioned dumplings. They were way too coarse and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I was looking for a recipe like my mother's & this was it. Made my own stock w/the chicken, onions & celery ahead of time & cooled, removed fat & deboned. Scooped celery and onions out & added fresh. Simmered all together, adding baby carrots & frozen green beans. Did not make gravy ~ doesn't need it. Dumplings were delicious & family loved. This one's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The overall taste seemed fine... Seemed salty, but I used regular butter instead of unsalted butter for the dumplings, which for all I know messed the whlel thing up... but the dumplings were awful! I guess I didn't understand the directions, but it said it will be crumbly after mixing everything together and then to spoon it in... so it stayed crumbly and was not appetizing at all - looks or taste. I'd appreciate for any veterans of this recipe if they could explain the dumpling part to me b/c it was nothing like any dumplings I have ever made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe makes a very nice stick-to-your-ribs meal. My dumplings were a little too big and light. Not a real problem. I made a roux and added back to the broth (we frequently make our own), could have been thicker. I used skin on legs and thighs, removed and skinned them after awhile and replaced. Reminds me of Mom's, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
FINALLY a good chicken & dumplings recipe! This is the 4th one I tried. I was let down by the shortcut recipes that use canned soups and biscuits. My family loved this recipe. I cut the recipe down to 8 servings. I used chicken thighs with the bones and skin because it really adds good flavor. I followed the recipe except I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried. The conversion rate is for every 3 teaspoons of fresh herbs you will use 1 teaspoon dry. One reviewer said the dumplings were dry. I made several size dumplings and found if too large the middles tend to be dry. The perfect size seemed to be a spoonful about the size of a small walnut. My family loves dumplings so I made extra. The dumplings use the broth so the more dumplings the less broth left for your gravy. Next time I will use more broth to start. At this point you will take out the dumplings and chicken. I pulled apart my chicken, removed the bones and skin and returned the chicken to the pot. When it says to press out the “veggie liquid” that means to strain your juices with a strainer then press the onions and celery in the strainer so you don’t have large hunks in your gravy but still have the juices and flavor from them, then dispose of the remnants from the strainer. The recipe did not designate how much flour to add to thicken the broth to gravy. I just went a tablespoon at a time and whisked it in and waited a minute and repeated till it thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Amazing! The stock takes a little bit of time to get right but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Dupor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States