Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I really was feeling for some Chicken and Dumplings, but I've never made them before! I just used this as a base recipe because I used the ingredients I already had on hand instead of going to the store. I used a mixed vegetable blend that included green beans and cauliflower and frozen pre-diced chicken breast. I've never heard of a condensed chicken mushroom soup so I just used condensed chicken. I threw all this in some seasonings. The dumplings are in now...I've already tasted the soup part and its SOOO good. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I made the dumplings in this recipe. After reading the reviews and reading the recipe it looks like a step was left out. The recipe does not say how much flour to reserve. Based on other recipes I would say 1/2 cup for the broth and 1 cup for the dumplings. Those that are saying it is crumbly likely used the whole 1 1/2 cups of flour. If you cut the flour in the dumplings they should not be crumbly or dry. For the poster who said boiling chicken results in dry chicken. Dry chicken is a result of over cooking not the method of cooking. Roasting a chicken can result in a dry chicken if you roast it too long. I know because I have done that in the past. Now for the recipe. Basically I am only reviewing the dumplings as I already have my own chicken stew recipe. I gave the recipe 4 stars primarily because one step is left out making the recipe confusing. I did make a change as my son has dairy allergies. I used chicken broth instead of milk. As my son can tolerate butter I used that. Next time I plan on using solid chicken from making broth. I will have to remember to save it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I just had to have chicken & dumplings - this was a Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I liked this recipe and would make it again. I love that all the ingredients are ones I'm likely to have on hand. I didn't have enough broth, so I subbed in a can of cream of chicken and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Outstanding.. so good... we have prepared this several times... and it is always gone.... fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ganjen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Fantastic! Made the recipe as is. Substituted bisquickoven-made biscuits for the dumplings, put them in with the gravy after prep. Hubby loved it! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wonderful basic recipe. MUCH better then anything with canned soups!!!!!!! I added a few more things garlic, sage, thyme, carrots & peas.. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Like a few others' said, good base recipe. I tweaked it quite a bit. Added a bay leaf and some poultry seasoning for flavor, added more salt. Added some carrots and more celery. I added way more broth. Also, the dumpling mix is great, but I would suggest making the dumplings smaller than this recipe calls for. The middle of the dumplings turned out kind of dry and I think that could be avoided by making the dumplings smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe as close as I could. Pros: Overall recipe was tasty and not over done, would make again with changes Cons: Recipe was unclear at times, took far too long to make, complicated, too much chicken, too few dumplings, dumplings deteriorated in cooking pot. Changes I would make: Double dumpling recipe, reduce amount of chicken, use canned stock instead of home made stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This dish reminds me so much of my mama (the only grandparent I met.) She used to make this all the time when we'd come over and I loved it. This is the closest recipe to hers I've found and we all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States