Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was good, but it wasnt what I had hoped it to be. It made a nice simple dinner that incorperated vegetables that were in my refridgerator already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe was very good and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I think this makes a good "base" for chicken and dumplings. It was very good, but I did make several changes, which I know changes the whole recipe. Instead of using canned stock, I made my own by adding water enough to cover the chicken in the pot. I also added a few whole peeled potatoes, some peeled carrots, a whole peeled onion and a few pieces of whole peeled celery. When my stock was done I disgarded the veggies (I just don't think they belong in chicken and dumplings, but they give an EXCELLENT flavor). Then I went on making my stew as directed. I also made one mistake, which was my own fault of course. Instead of making my own dumplings I bought frozen ones, something I will never do again..nothing like making your own (smile) Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Being a Mexican cook I always feared cooking this dish but my partner talked me into it and boy am I happy. I used my own homemade stock (heavy on veggies, garlic, and spices) and used whole wheat flour to make it healthier and I couldn't believe what I had been missing. This shall now be a fixture in my home cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I actually used a bit over four pounds of chicken. It turned out great! I'm not sure if it's the addition of baking powder or unsalted butter in the dumplings, but these were the best I've tried. It was added to my recipe box and will get a lot of attention in my house. Very, very good! Enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I tried it and loved it. I usually make chicken pastry. This was similar, but different enough to make instead of pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I thought this was good and easy. Most dumpling recipes are too salty this one is not. But when making the gravy it says to add remaining flour, what remaining flour? I used it all for the dumplings, not a big problem I just used 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was a good basic recipe but I did change a few things. First of all, I never, EVER boil a chicken. That's the quickest way of drying it out. Although it takes longer, I roast my chicken the day before, shred the meat and then make my stock with the bones. I placed my vegies into a clean pot with oil and sauteed. I then added flour to make a roux, so that I wouldn't have to thicken later on. After simmering the stew I made my own dumplings using buttermilk and eggs mixed together and then folded the liquid into the self rising flour. The folding process kept the dumplings light and airy. Just before I placed the dumplings into the stew I added my meat back in. This was so comforting and the gang absolutely loved it on yet another snowy N.J. spring? day. Thank you Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This tasted so good!! I have tried other dumpling recipies and this is the first that has turned out. I used half the amount of chicken, salted butter and about 1/2 tsp dried parsley. I didn't understand what veggie liquid is. I just left the veggies and chicken in, took out the dumplings, and added the water/flour mixture. I LOVED this and my picky 2 year old even ate the dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My Family really enjoyed this wonderful meal, I added Two chopped med. sized carrots which brought out more color and flavor. I'm sure going to make this agian. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States