Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe! Only had two legs and two thighs on hand, but it didn't matter. The soup was delicious! Kids and hubby ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a delicious recipe but the dumplings are more trouble than they are worth. Just use BISQUICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious, my girls who hate any kind of "one pot" meal...could not stop digging out of the pot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Try this with turkey! I had a gallon bag filled with leftover turkey & stock I froze several months ago. I also added carrots for the color and flavor. Definitely use UNSALTED butter. You will appreciate the parsley more - for a nice noodley taste. When I called my kids to the table, my skinny 9 yr old said "Yuck, I hate dumplings!" He ended up eating two servings and said it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The dumplings were huge with not much flavor, but the chicken part was great. Next time I'll make smaller dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skuba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Made this recipe this evening and it is VERY good. I also noted there is no measurement for the flour in the dumplings and flour for making the gravy. For my dumplings I just did about 1 1/4 c. and 1/4 c. for the gravy. The dumplings are delicious and have the perfect amount of salt for our tastes. Hubby, (who turns up his nose at dumplings) commented on how great this smelled. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
all i needed was the dumpling part of the recipe and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This wonderfully satisfying recipe is very similar to one I have from the old McCalls Cooking School cookbook from 1976. The parsley dumplings are the absolute best dumplings ever, and really add a nice touch. My sons experimented by adding a touch of garlic and onion powder to the bisquit mix--fantastic! Try this recipe, you won't be sorry! 6 STARS! My husband likes the dumplings made with chopped chinese parsley for a slightly oriental flavor. As you can see, we've made this recipe many times, and never get tired of it. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Good but seemed too salty even though I still used unsalted butter. I will use this recipe again but I'll just adjust the salt and add more broth to make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Good and easy. I added two 10oz cans of cream of mushroom condensed soup to give it a little thickness. My family enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States