Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used only about 4 lbs of cut up chicken (2 large breasts and 2 large thighs, added some diced carrots. Ended up with a little too much stock/broth, next time will use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I was looking for a "from scratch" recipe since I had neither biscuit mix nor canned creamed soup on hand (that most such recipes calls for) but did have half a leftover roast chicken from dinner last night. This was well worth it!! I omitted the salt in the broth since I was using from bullion broth and that is loaded with salt already.....but did the rest as instructed. Here in Amish country chicken pot pie tastes JUST like this but with the addition of a diced potato. Hubby declared this would be "just perfect" with the addition of the potato......so next time I will add that to suit "local tastes". I did add an extra cup or 2 of water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe! Only had two legs and two thighs on hand, but it didn't matter. The soup was delicious! Kids and hubby ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a delicious recipe but the dumplings are more trouble than they are worth. Just use BISQUICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious, my girls who hate any kind of "one pot" meal...could not stop digging out of the pot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Try this with turkey! I had a gallon bag filled with leftover turkey & stock I froze several months ago. I also added carrots for the color and flavor. Definitely use UNSALTED butter. You will appreciate the parsley more - for a nice noodley taste. When I called my kids to the table, my skinny 9 yr old said "Yuck, I hate dumplings!" He ended up eating two servings and said it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The dumplings were huge with not much flavor, but the chicken part was great. Next time I'll make smaller dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skuba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Made this recipe this evening and it is VERY good. I also noted there is no measurement for the flour in the dumplings and flour for making the gravy. For my dumplings I just did about 1 1/4 c. and 1/4 c. for the gravy. The dumplings are delicious and have the perfect amount of salt for our tastes. Hubby, (who turns up his nose at dumplings) commented on how great this smelled. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
all i needed was the dumpling part of the recipe and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This wonderfully satisfying recipe is very similar to one I have from the old McCalls Cooking School cookbook from 1976. The parsley dumplings are the absolute best dumplings ever, and really add a nice touch. My sons experimented by adding a touch of garlic and onion powder to the bisquit mix--fantastic! Try this recipe, you won't be sorry! 6 STARS! My husband likes the dumplings made with chopped chinese parsley for a slightly oriental flavor. As you can see, we've made this recipe many times, and never get tired of it. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States