Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good. After I strained the broth and removed the veggies I add fresh carrots and celery to the broth and cooked until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Tasty and easy. I quartered the recipe, except that I used the full biscuit amount. Next time I will use my own biscuit recipe. I also added some Paul Prudhomme's Polty Magic seasoning. The ingredients list and instructions weren't clear about how much flour to use for the thickening. I used 1/4 c. of water (since I quartered the recipe) and about 1/3 c. flour. That worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe! I made it for the second time tonight. I did adjust the flour some as I used all of it for the dumplings the first time. The dumplings were still good, just a little dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moorefield, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Yummy... I changed a few things... I sauteed the onions, celery and onions in butter 1st. I used a chicken bouillion and water cuz I was out of brotha and I didnt make as large of a serving as it asks for b/c I was only feeding 2 but over all it was delicious.. Hubby said best Chick and Dumplings ever. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Manuele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Found the flavor to be a bit bland. The amount of flour for the dumplings was not specified nor for the gravy. I used a whole cut up chicken and simmered it for 35 minutes then took the meat off the bones. Good base to start with but needs LOTS more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used only about 4 lbs of cut up chicken (2 large breasts and 2 large thighs, added some diced carrots. Ended up with a little too much stock/broth, next time will use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I was looking for a "from scratch" recipe since I had neither biscuit mix nor canned creamed soup on hand (that most such recipes calls for) but did have half a leftover roast chicken from dinner last night. This was well worth it!! I omitted the salt in the broth since I was using from bullion broth and that is loaded with salt already.....but did the rest as instructed. Here in Amish country chicken pot pie tastes JUST like this but with the addition of a diced potato. Hubby declared this would be "just perfect" with the addition of the potato......so next time I will add that to suit "local tastes". I did add an extra cup or 2 of water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe! Only had two legs and two thighs on hand, but it didn't matter. The soup was delicious! Kids and hubby ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a delicious recipe but the dumplings are more trouble than they are worth. Just use BISQUICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious, my girls who hate any kind of "one pot" meal...could not stop digging out of the pot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States