Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I didn't try this recipe, however, this is not the traditional "Southern" method to make "dumplins". You use a roasting chicken season it well & boil with onions. Once you've finished boiling it, you remove the whole chicken from the pot & reserve the broth. While the chicken is boiling, make the dough by mixing the flour & water and rolling the dough into STRIPS. Slowly drop the strips of dough into the pot to cook. Remove chicken from the bone and drop into the pot with the dumlings. Add a lot of pepper for flavor. You don't need to add extra flour as this recipe calls for because the flour on the dumplings should be sufficent to me the soup a nice consistency. If not, remove a cup of broth to mix with flour to thicken the soup. Option: some people use a can of biscuits and pinch pieces of dough into the broth OR roll out the buiscuit dough into strips. You must add FLOUR onto the table / rolling pin to prevent sticking. Parsley, carrots, corn, celery & other veggies were not included with the traditional southern recipe. (that's considered chowder or chicken soup with dumplings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I was just wondering about steps 2 (making the dumplings) and 3 (making the gravy). It never says how much flour for each step. I just added all the flour to the dumplings, then got to the gravy section and found out that there was supposed to be 'remaining flour' for that step. I'll make a rue myself, but hopefully the dumplings won't be too tough... :-/ I'll edit my review when we've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Finally tried this recipe, but changed just a little. Made my own stock. 2 quarts of water, 2 tablespoons of Knorr chicken bouillon, bag of baby carrots, 4 stalks of celery, and 1 small onion all roughly chopped, salt and pepper and garlic powder. Combine all with chicken (thighs)in stock pot and cook till chicken is done. Taste to see if seasoning needs to be adjusted. For the gravy mixed 1/2 cup of flour with 1/4 cup of evaporated milk pour slur into chicken and dumplings (I did not remove chicken and dumpling per directions). VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Excellent! Rather than using pre-made stock I made some with onion, carrots, garlic powder, celery seed and salt and pepper as I boiled the chicken. Added some mushrooms and zucchini after about 45 minutes. We don't really care for parsley so I used thyme in the biscuits instead. I saved all the veggies when I pulled out the chicken and biscuits to make the gravy, which was outstanding. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Used a different dumpling recipe and left the veggies in. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MealerMom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I only used about 3 pounds of chicken breast and left all other measurements the same. I made my own chicken broth and spiced it the way I wanted to. on the confusion about the flour I used about 1 Cup and 2 teaspoons in the biscuits used 1/2 a cup for the gravy.. also instead of the traditional carrots and celery I used 1 large potato and about 3 oz of mushrooms..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe is really great on a cold snowy day. Definitely comfort food! But the recipe should indicate in the ingredients section that the 1 1/2 cups of flour is divided. 1 1/4 cup for the dumplings and the remaining 1/4 cup for the gravy!!!!! I think many people used the full 1 1/2 cups of flour for the dumplings, NOT GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have been trying for the longest time to remember how my mother made chicken&dumplings and this recipe filled in a lot of blanks. The only difference was my mother browned her chicken a little then added her onions, garlic, celery and carrots and then water (we are talking about many years ago. Then the roaster went into the oven. The smell drove me crazy. When chicken was cooked, dumplings were added and this was cooked on the top of the stove. Dumplings and chicken were removed from roaster. Gravy was then made. Complete withe vegetables. We always had mashed potatoes with this dish. There was never any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Everyone loved it! I added carrots and some seasonings and cornstarch to thicken it and lots of dumplings. Success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I Just made this recipe. Came out wonderful! I did embellish it, so I can't say how the original unadulterated version would turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States