Old-Fashioned Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Great recipe. I doubled the recipe for a crowd. I also boiled the potato slices with a couple of cloves of garlic prior to adding to the baking dish. I had to make this ahead and didn't know if I'd have enough time to "cook" the potatoes. Boiling to just before tender was perfect. The hour of baking then made it warm and bubbly. I didn't have processed American, so I subbed 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 mozzarella. This was so wonderful that I've been asked to bring it to Easter dinner also. Thanks Martha Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
WONDERFULLY DELICIOUS!! Potatoes looked just like the picture. I used a buttered 10" square casserole dish, which worked perfectly. I believe the pan size in the recipe should be 9xl3, maybe Martha can verify that. In addition to the pepper and salt, I added garlic and onion powder as well. Make sure to slice the potatoes very thin, perhaps cutting them in half as well (as I did). Plan on a baking time of one and a half hours, they keep nicely in a warm oven. The potatoes were very creamy and flavorful. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful and easy recipe. I am happy to be adding it to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is a yummy side dish! I used 1 cup velveeta and 1/2 cup sharp cheddar. I didn't want to go to the trouble of boiling the potatoes as some had suggested, so I cooked it for 30 minutes covered with foil. I cooked it uncovered for the remainder of the time, and the potatoes were perfectly done. (I did taste the sauce before pouring over the potatoes and adjusted the seasonings as needed.) Delicious- especially with grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is delicious! Close to what my mom used to make. Only things I did different was GRATE a 1/2 onion and saute it with the butter. Added dried basil and about 7 SLICES of American cheese. After I poured the cheese sauce onto the potatoes I sprinkled paprika on the top. Great!!!! And NOW it tastes like my mom used to make. Wonderful recipe!! Try throwing in some well done bacon or even deli honey ham for even MORE flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
THE "definitive" cheese potato recipe! This recipe makes the best homemade cheese sauce that I've ever tasted, and I can't wait to try this with noodles. I prepared the recipe as written with the exception of substituting cheddar cheese for the American cheese. Martha, thank you so much for posting this recipe. We all enjoyed this very much. I have a son-in-law who happens to be a total cheese-potato fanatic, so I'm looking forward to serving these to him soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe is easy and quick. My son loved it! I used a little more cheese on top but found it wasn't necessary. I too used a larger dish with good results. I didn't add garlic and onion but probably will next time. I thought it was slightly bland (I like highly seasoned food) but my son said it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Awesome!! When I first viewed this recipe I thought by the ingregrients it would be a so -so recipe - but it was excellent. I always make the recipe as printed before I make changes, no changes necessary for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
YUMMY! I can't believe how simple and delicious these were I will definitely make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe!! I greased a casserole dish and added onion and garlic powder as others recommended. I also added bacon after I cut it into bite size pieces and fried in the pan. It was an amazing combination with potatoes. Lastly, I sprinkled parsley on top as a nice touch. What a nice looking tasteful dish!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
i've been looking for a scalloped potato dish and this is it!! The sauce is the perfect thickness...not too thin, not too thick. I added an extra pototo and chopped up a clove of garlic to give it more oomph, but otherwise this dish needs no improvement!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States