Old-Fashioned Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
i loved it. It's actually the same as we make our witloof (xept wrapping those in ham and cheese b4 putting them in the pan). My husband ate it which was something, he hates white sauces. And witloof too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I parboiled the potatoes for about 10 minutes, let them cool slightly then sliced them as thin as possible. The dish still took close to an hour to completely cook through. They browned nicely and this receipe made tons. It's amazing how far 6 potatoes will go. These were well enjoyed by the family, especially the male members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
i've been looking for a scalloped potato dish and this is it!! The sauce is the perfect thickness...not too thin, not too thick. I added an extra pototo and chopped up a clove of garlic to give it more oomph, but otherwise this dish needs no improvement!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This recipe looked just like my grandma's so I tried it. It is exactly the same! Thank you so very much for posting it. Brought back wonderful memories. Great potato recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is a yummy side dish! I used 1 cup velveeta and 1/2 cup sharp cheddar. I didn't want to go to the trouble of boiling the potatoes as some had suggested, so I cooked it for 30 minutes covered with foil. I cooked it uncovered for the remainder of the time, and the potatoes were perfectly done. (I did taste the sauce before pouring over the potatoes and adjusted the seasonings as needed.) Delicious- especially with grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
These were simply amazing. I wish I could have made them exactly as the recipe stated, but I am living abroad, and american cheese is impossible to come by. I substituted 3 parts light laughing cow cheese, 2 parts mozzarella, and one part queso tierno for the cheese. Since these are milder cheeses I added one onion cut into strips. The onion practically caramelized; the sauce tastes amazing. Everything about this screaams home-cooking. I am so glad that I tried the recipe, modifying it with new cheeses. This is one for the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was such an easy recipe. The only thing I changed was that I used mild cheddar cheese instead of processed American. The sauce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made these for Easter dinner. My husband LOVED them & they are easy enough to make any night of the week! ( I used Velveeta cheese and a handful of grated mild cheddar to make up enough for the amount of cheese called for)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Now wr're talking. I fixed these for Easter and they were great. I did put them in a 9 x 13 pan and they came out wonderfully. A big hit at my house. I'll certainly make these again. They were very easy. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I found these to be very BLAND (although I must say there was not a morsel left of these at the end of dinner, and there were 2 other potato dishes to choose from). I used a mild cheddar so maybe that was the problem, although if I try these again I think I will use a sharp cheddar and layer some in along WITH the cheese sauce and also add more salt and seasonings and perhaps some chopped onion. I wasn't wow'ed by these, but people seemed to like 'em! Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States