Old-Fashioned Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a delicious side dish. I added an onion to the recipe, and cooked the whole dish in the same skillet that I made the roux/cheese sauce in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This dish was a big hit in my house I tweeked it a lil bit. First I boiled the potatoes whole then sliced them and because I pre boiled the potatoes I cut the baking time down to 30 minutes. I then deep fried 1 pkg maple bacon cut into pieces for 2 minutes at 375 degrees then added them to the cheese sauce while simmering on stove. I felt it needed a lil more cheese so I Used 2 cups shredded colby jack cheese and 4 oz of velveta cheese. It turned out so good I found our house guest going for more at midnight saying these potatoes are so good they even taste great cold. Thank you Martha great recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hicksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great Recipe! I made it for my friends and they all loved it! I added diced jalapenos and sauteed onions because we like things on the spicy side. I also added a little garlic powder. It turned out awesome! There was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
What a cute story!! These are delicious, and so easy...I'm always tampering with recipes and adding different seasoning, and aside from the salt, I subbed a little Mrs. Dash table blend for the black pepper, used 1/2c American, 1/2c mild cheddar, and 1/2 Italian blend cheeses b/c that's what I had...WOW! The extra flavor from the parm and asiago in the Italian blend was awesome!! Thanks for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeLiz09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Great receipe. So simple and yet so delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
As others had suggested, I added a tsp of onion powder and garlic powder. I decreased the salt. Cooked about an hour and 15 minutes. The last 15 minutues I covered the pan (9X13) with tin foil because the cheese was a nice golden brown. It was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My super picky husband loved these!! And they were really easy. I think I'll add more cheese next time just for our personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I followed it step by step except I used Cheddar Cheese and it turned out perfect. My brother commented..."These are the best potatoes I have ever eaten!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Such a fabulous recipe. I usually make boxed scalloped potatoes but my partner complained when I told him we were having that for dinner with chicken cutlets. He said "You always make them." well I love em so this time I decided to come on all recipes and check my recipe box and came across this. I had all the ingredients. I did change a few things. I only used two cups of milk because I thought it would be too watery. I used a little less flour then the recipe calls for beings I cut back the milk. That was a great change. I also added powdered garlic beings I put garlic in everything. And I used sharp grated cheddar cheese because processed cheese sounded disgusting and we love cheddar. So glad I did that. I used my slicer and sliced potatoes really thin. And I topped it all off with cheddar cheese before putting it in the oven. We were in a rush so I only cooked it for 45 minutes at 400 and that was fine. Never will do boxed again. This was so easy to do and so worth the time and effort. The only thing I will change next time is I will layer it. I will place one level of potatoes with a little sauce, more potatoes and so on. The sauce did not get all the way through the potatoes so thius is why I will level it. Never use processed American, use cheddar if you are a cheddar person like we are. My partner loved these and did not complain one bit about having scalloped potatoes again. He even went back for seconds, Lol. A must try recipe for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States