Old-Fashioned Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made these for Easter and found them very bland. I did as others suggested and used sharp cheddar (2 cups) and also boiled the potatoes till almost tender. Other than that I followed the directions as written. I will give them another try to see if I did something wrong???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Outstanding! I fixed these with our Easter dinner tonight and they were very good. Not hard to make and very flavorful! I didn't use American cheese, though. I used cheddar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Made this according to the recipe but substituted shredded cheddar instead of american and it was the best! (and easy too) We will never use the box stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Great recipe. I doubled the recipe for a crowd. I also boiled the potato slices with a couple of cloves of garlic prior to adding to the baking dish. I had to make this ahead and didn't know if I'd have enough time to "cook" the potatoes. Boiling to just before tender was perfect. The hour of baking then made it warm and bubbly. I didn't have processed American, so I subbed 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 mozzarella. This was so wonderful that I've been asked to bring it to Easter dinner also. Thanks Martha Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Great potatoes!! This is just the recipe I was looking for. I was tired of the plain jane scalloped potatoes so I decided to find a recipe with a twist, I hit the jackpot on this one!! I used Velveeta and shredded mont./jack cheese. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup, this was a must for consistancy. There were no leftovers in sight. I had to cook for 1 hr and 30 minutes to get done, but they were worth the wait. I will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slater, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
It's awesome and easy! I cooked this for my wife and she loved it! (And I can't cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
It was really good but what I changed is that I put shredded cheese instead of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Awesome!! When I first viewed this recipe I thought by the ingregrients it would be a so -so recipe - but it was excellent. I always make the recipe as printed before I make changes, no changes necessary for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Guinstar
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
this was great. i used motza cheese and used half the recipe. turned out beautiful. will use recipe again! maybe another cheese or a mix of cheeses even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
THE "definitive" cheese potato recipe! This recipe makes the best homemade cheese sauce that I've ever tasted, and I can't wait to try this with noodles. I prepared the recipe as written with the exception of substituting cheddar cheese for the American cheese. Martha, thank you so much for posting this recipe. We all enjoyed this very much. I have a son-in-law who happens to be a total cheese-potato fanatic, so I'm looking forward to serving these to him soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States