Old-Fashioned Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delicious! I made this for a dinner party with friends who loved it. Best part is that I was able to easily convert this recipe to a gluten-free version (and no one missed the wheat) by swapping 2 tablespoons of corn starch for the 1/4 flour. Be careful if you do this, though, roux is different with corn starch - mine scorched a little because I treated it like you would a wheat flour roux. A friend told me that it would be better to add the corn starch to the milk (warmed) before adding the entire mixture to the hot butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
fabulous. I baked it for an hour and a half uncovered. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Great basic cheese potatoes!! Kids especially love the American cheese in this recipe. I think they would be great with Cheddar or other cheeses, too, so I may try variations next time. Yummy as is though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Great dish I used 4 oz s of velveeta and 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizardsgarden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
OH MY. I chose this recipe because I had everything on hand. I, too, like a previous poster, thought it would just be an OK recipe. Turns out I was wrong. I changed nothing of the recipe and it was delicious!!! Everyone had seconds and I had thirds (what?). I can't wait to eat the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
made this last night and was lovely. i used a little velveeta (am not a fan of processed cheese) but mostly used old sharp cheddar. omitted salt, used black pepper/garlic powder. used yukon gold potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
OUTSTANDING! Perfect as is. A great basic recipe. Easy to add different cheeses and some seasonings as you like. And yes the cheese sauce works well on macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This recipe is awesome!!! I cooked it for my mom and she was incredibly happy cause this is one of her favorite foods! Thank you sooooooo much to whomever posted this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe i used double the cheese that is calls for. My husband likes it really cheesy. You won't be sorry if you try these potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Layer sauce with potatoes and a bit of salt to make sure cheese gets into the potatoes. Great recipe, great cheese sauce. We used a mandolin so the potatoes coked evenly. we used a deeper dish so it took 2 hours to cook. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States