Old Fashioned Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was great traditional gravy, not as thick as I normally like, but was a good quick fix for a mess up. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made this gravy using drippings from my chuck roast cooked in the crock pot. In order to make a rue with the right consistency, I used at least 6 tablespoons of drippings to the 2 tablespoons of flour. Otherwise, I followed the recipe for milk and water. The gravy cooked and thickened nicely. I'm giving 3 stars only because I was in a hurry, and had I not saved any more drippings than the 2 tablespoons called for in the recipe, I'd have been in trouble!! Will use recipe again, but more drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriltxn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I omitted the milk and I used the juice from the chicken instead. Added some oregano, basil and parsley just to get abit of italian taste. My husband really liked it. Went well with mash potatoes and BBQ Chicken. View pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is how my Mom made hamberger gravy! but tonight I added the hamberger, dehydraded chopped onions, Montreal Steak Seasoning to it and put it on toast! then I heated up some small peas with butter, salt, pepper and layered them over the top.Man it was so good I had to write this review. Try it u'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I have never had problems making gravy in the past, but this just didn't work. It wouldn't thicken, and was very bland, even with A LOT of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I know I can't make gravey, but I can follow a recipe... something went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Wondeful Fall dish. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Perfect traditional gravy just like Mom made. And no lumps! For chicken or pork, I use the half milk and half water. But for roast beef gravy, I like to 2 cups of water and no milk (use the water used to boil your potatoes for mashed potatoes to go with the gravy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Making Turkey Gravy

See the tricks to making smooth, lump-free, savory turkey gravy.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States