Old Fashioned Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Wondeful Fall dish. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
i've never made gravy from drippings before and this turned out perfect!!! though i didn't measure anything.. i just took all the drippings (beef) and added some flour and a dash of milk. oh, and i added just a bit of beef stock. i had the corn starch ready, but i'm amazed that i didn't even need it! i'm glad that i read the dirctions and decided to wait because it only took about a minute to thicken up. anyway, thanks for posting this, it saved my butt today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elstilez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
My DH is very country and used to homemade gravy. After almost a year of feeding him the packaged gravy I tried this without him realizing it, and it was a HIT! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Awww Thanks so much for this recipe reminds me of what my granny use to make:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I omitted the milk and I used the juice from the chicken instead. Added some oregano, basil and parsley just to get abit of italian taste. My husband really liked it. Went well with mash potatoes and BBQ Chicken. View pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I never have made gravy before on my own and now I have. Easy to follow and easy to make. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Perfect traditional gravy just like Mom made. And no lumps! For chicken or pork, I use the half milk and half water. But for roast beef gravy, I like to 2 cups of water and no milk (use the water used to boil your potatoes for mashed potatoes to go with the gravy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I probably should have given this 4 stars because I used more drippings and a dash of salt/pepper. BUT the instructions are great. I've never been able to make a successful gravy but this worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitLoops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
WOW!!! I just made gravy! My husband and I both thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
We forgot to make gravy (again) this year for Thanksgiving, so I did a search for easy last minute gravy recipes. This recipe came out beautifully, and I did my very best to screw it up at each turn! You can't go wrong with it. Totally good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Making Turkey Gravy

See the tricks to making smooth, lump-free, savory turkey gravy.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States