Old Fashioned Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Perfect traditional gravy just like Mom made. And no lumps! For chicken or pork, I use the half milk and half water. But for roast beef gravy, I like to 2 cups of water and no milk (use the water used to boil your potatoes for mashed potatoes to go with the gravy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made this gravy using drippings from my chuck roast cooked in the crock pot. In order to make a rue with the right consistency, I used at least 6 tablespoons of drippings to the 2 tablespoons of flour. Otherwise, I followed the recipe for milk and water. The gravy cooked and thickened nicely. I'm giving 3 stars only because I was in a hurry, and had I not saved any more drippings than the 2 tablespoons called for in the recipe, I'd have been in trouble!! Will use recipe again, but more drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriltxn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I have never had problems making gravy in the past, but this just didn't work. It wouldn't thicken, and was very bland, even with A LOT of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Pretty good! Definitely needed seasoning, but easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
i've never made gravy from drippings before and this turned out perfect!!! though i didn't measure anything.. i just took all the drippings (beef) and added some flour and a dash of milk. oh, and i added just a bit of beef stock. i had the corn starch ready, but i'm amazed that i didn't even need it! i'm glad that i read the dirctions and decided to wait because it only took about a minute to thicken up. anyway, thanks for posting this, it saved my butt today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elstilez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is how my Mom made hamberger gravy! but tonight I added the hamberger, dehydraded chopped onions, Montreal Steak Seasoning to it and put it on toast! then I heated up some small peas with butter, salt, pepper and layered them over the top.Man it was so good I had to write this review. Try it u'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is a good recipe, but it needed some salt and pepper. I used beef stock in place of water for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I never have made gravy before on my own and now I have. Easy to follow and easy to make. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I omitted the milk and I used the juice from the chicken instead. Added some oregano, basil and parsley just to get abit of italian taste. My husband really liked it. Went well with mash potatoes and BBQ Chicken. View pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was good, I did add a bit of sage to mine, salt and pepper and the milk without water. We served it over mashed potatoes on New Years Day! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Making Turkey Gravy

See the tricks to making smooth, lump-free, savory turkey gravy.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States