Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
The best beef stew I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very tasty, was a little too watery. I will try using chicken or beef stock next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was ok but the flavors were off to me. I don't think I will put the lemon juice in next time, that seemed to be the problem with it. I used all the water since we like ours a bit more soupy. But I added beef bouillon for flavor. We always omit salt and sugar in cooking as we find it isn't necessary and adds empty calories. It was no where near as good as the stovetop stew I make from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn_So Cal
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! This was my first attempt at homemade stew and it ROCKED! I followed some of the reviews and floured then pre-browned the meat in order it thicken the stew. I also opted to use celery and omit the corn. It all worked wonderfully! I definitely plan on making this again....my husband is surely hoping I do! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn_So Cal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This smelled wonderful while cooking but it did taste a bit bland- I reheated it today and put a couple of slices of cabbage on top and put the lid on it. Much better today. This is just one of those recipes that is better the next day-for whatever reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is the best Beef Stew I have ever made! My family was equally impressed. Thanks Tara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
As written I'm not sure about this recipe. I used 2 cups of boiling water with low sodium Sprouts Beef broth in it. Had to add a can of diced tomatoes for added flavor. Only used 3 new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was good, but I did make a few changes. I used 2 cans beef broth and 2 cups of water instead of 4 cups water. I also added a package of au jus gravy mix. This was delicious with the changes; however, it did make it overly salty. Between the broth and the gravy mix, I think the salt can be omitted completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
YUM! I like the flavor of the 'broth' part...of course I added a little extra of all the spices and it is really nice. My family likes a thick stew so I dredged the beef in flour and browned it, and added some corn starch toward the end. OH! And I was short on time so I made this on the stove instead of the slow cooker. Used half the meat...I really love how the allspice/Worcestershire/sugar/salt/bay leaf flavors the stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States