Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I was looking for something to make one sat morning & i found this. Easy, tasty not really any fuss. Which is what I like. The only real fuss was peeling the potates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This recipe is just like my Mum used to make. The seasonings really combine into such a flavorful broth, and ofcourse the slow cooker makes everything so perfectly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
My Family really likes this stew recipe. We never have any leftovers when I make this. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This stew rocked!!! It was well worth the wait and perfect companion with a crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This stew was pretty good but needed better seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Even after adding the cornstarch I found this more like a chunky beef soup. I added a beef bouillion cube and omitted the extra salt to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Even after reducing, this stew is still very very very wet. It's really more of a beef soup than a stew...Needs more flavour and a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I made this for 4 picky and diverse adults, all but one liked it - she doesn't like corn. Her loss. A little too salty - I added 2 beef bouillon cubes and 2 packages of brown gravy mix to thicken and add flavor, so next time will omit salt entirely as I usually do. Left out lemon juice - ick. The only other change that would make it even better is to brown the stew meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Thanks to the reviewers' comments and the instructions about adding "1 heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. . . " it was pretty easy to see this was soup, not stew. So I made simple changes: use chicken broth, not water, for flavor. Use 2 cups, not 4, to prevent soupiness. Use low sodium broth, to prevent saltiness. Add 1 simple pat of butter on top to add richness and prevent sticking (when it reduces and gets thicker). Problems solved -- basic and pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This tasted just like my mom's stew! I made no changes to this recipe but I did add the cornstarch at the end of cooking time and left the lid off so it would thicken. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States