Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe is flavorless. I followed it exactly, and the result left my daughter (who loves beef stew) asking for something else for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
If you'll notice there is a giant dumpling in the stew and that is probably what thickened the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
It was vegetable heavy. The broth was too little and very thin. I had to make more broth and thicken. Won't make this agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I haven't made this, but I had to comment, because it's the first time I've seen the combination of bay and allspice in a stew other than in my own stew! I make a traditional stew with these spices. If you don't like this specific recipe, keep the spices in mind for your favorite version of stew, give them a shot- for thirty years I've gotten rave reviews from fiends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my family and friends, so I am making it again today. I followed some other peoples advice and added 2 cup low-sodium beef broth and 1 cup of water instead of the 4 cups of water and also added 1 tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
A bit potato-heavy. I used 3 and it was plenty. Thickened as she suggested but it needed more. Good flavor and super easy with crock pot. Husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This was just okay. It had plenty of veggies and the meat was tender. The only thing that it could have used was thickness. My family thinks stews should be more creamier. I didn't realize this until it was to late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Hi, I put this together this morning in the crockpot for our dinner. About 1/2 hour before it was done, I put bisquick dumplings on top. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. The flavor was great. Had plenty left over to freeze. A fantastic crockpot recipe. Sincerely, Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
really liked the combination of spices in this recipe. Left out all the vegetables as my family dont like them cooked in the slow cooker. When the meat was cooked i removed it, thickened up the gravy and added the meat back in. Really nice and will make again. Also a good filling for a steak pie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
My husband loves this and he's very picky about stews, etc. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States