Old-Fashioned Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
What she should have done was soak the beans in water for 24 hours instead of cooking them to try to soften them. Other than that, recipet is okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Made these with a few changes: no bacon and used BBQ sauce instead of molasses!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
My family loves these beans. Needed to lower salt in our diet so had to give up canned baked beans. I change it up a bit. I use 2 cans northern beans, rinsed. Add about 1/2 can water, one slice of uncooked bacon cut up. I also add 1T worchestershire sauce and a squirt of ketchup. Mix all ingredients, bring to a boil and slow simmer for about 30 minutes. Add water if needed. I sometimes mix some cornstarch in cold water it they need to thicken. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I was able to rescue it by adding more brown sugar and molasses, garlic, bbq sauce, and ketchup. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Perfect! The only thing I did differently was soak the beans overnight and did not preboil them. Just baked as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Tried this recipe twice. Not too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe for baked beans. One thing that I do differently that what is called for is I soak the beans over night and then follow the rest of the directions. I think this helps with making the beans cook and become tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe was handed down thru generations in my family but instead of using dry beans I use pork & beans drain some liquid off and mix all ingridents together and bake with slices of raw bacon on top. I take it to all get togethers and always left with an empty bowl. Audrene from Michigan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Did not like. The beans didn't cook properly even after hours of cooking. I will stick to my "canned baked beans" (instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Great, only my family really likes molasses so I doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States