Old Fashioned Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Simply Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe was a fabulous hit with my family last night. I did a few minor changes to the recipe. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and sliced the apples really thin with my salad shooter. I did this and everybody just raved over it and now it's all gone. It didn't even last one full night with my family. I guess next time I will have to make two or three pies to make it last, LOL. I will definitely be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The first pie I fallowed the recipe to a tee. It was really runny and it caused the bottom crust to be soggy(this was the results after it had time to cool and the liquid to thicken). I made a second one and in the place of 2TBSP flour I used 4TBSP and it was perfect.(just be sure to let it cool before cutting it so you allow the liquid time to thicken up. I also brushed the top crust with melted butter before baking and the top crust was a lot better as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I have made this a few times. The thinner the apples are sliced, the better. Used 2 heaping tablespoonsful of flour, which seemed to help a lot. Definitely had to cook for the whole 50 minutes. Will cook this again, it's great for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
OMG BEST apple pie ever. My husband said best he has had since Aunt Rosey!! I did brush crust w/egg white & sprinkle w/raw sugar. This pie is to die for. Oregon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
it was great! it was vary moist and rich,but i think i wold add some lemon juice to the recipe but i did not try adding it in mine.and the sauce did taste a bit strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Hubs and I agree this is a darned fine pie. While I made a couple of minor modifications, none were necessary. I most frequently make my apple pies with just white sugar, but this time I wanted a little “caramel-y-scotchy” taste so I used half white and half brown sugar –just fun for something different. The amounts of cinnamon and nutmeg were just right. I typically don’t care for nutmeg in apple pies, but the little bit of it that was indicated here enhanced rather than dominated. As for the flour, I’m always nervous about that – 2 T. is a common amount used in apple pie recipes but you can never know exactly if that will be too much or too little. The Fuji apples I used were very juicy so I used two HEAPING tablespoons and so far I’m happy with that. I’ll be interested to see tomorrow morning, however, once the pie has set overnight, if I’m still as pleased! I’m hoping it won’t have turned to paste! I used a rich pie crust, “Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry,” also from this site, and brushed it with a mixture of one egg yolk and 1 T. half-and-half before baking. I baked the pie at a consistent 375 degrees – 25 minutes with the crust uncovered, then another 25 minutes or so with the crust edge covered with foil. This pie recipe and the pastry recipe I chose was a winning combination and lived up to its name. This was indeed a good “Old Fashioned Apple Pie.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was wonderful!!! It was gobbled up in 2 days!! Wonderful as is!!! Thanks for helping me make my first Apple Pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This apple pie was just perfect. I used Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Came out great and followed recipe exactly. Great combination of sugar and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States