Old Fashioned Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was the first time I ever made a pie. This pie is really good, my husband & I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiNicol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I used Granny Smith apples which made for a nice, tart pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
pie turned out a little runny until it cooled Taste excellent ! I added raisins..yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddysmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is a very good and easy to make pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! I used apples from the trees in my yard, a couple different kinds, and I also followed the suggestions of using more flour. It worked great and the consistency was perfect. I also used the store bought pie shells (I don't make my own), and it was a big winner with the hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great simple recipe, I substitute a quarter cup of white sugar with brown and I also add a few drop of vanilla extract...... deliciously disappearing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor-Leah
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first apple pie that I was making. To be honest it did not come out very good. I had to do a lot of fine tuning to this recipe to the point where it was not this recipe at all. This recipe gave me some practice and taught me where the improvements need to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor-Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I used this as a base and added my own touch. I used a mixture of half Gala apples and half Braeburn to get the sweet and tart/crisp mix I wanted. I used Saigon cinnamon, fresh ground nutmeg and added just a dash of chipotle pepper. It gave it the kick I was looking for and still had that sweet apple taste. It's my new favorite apply pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Stockton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This pie was delicious. It was a bit watery (the reason for the 4 stars), but I can fix that next time by adding more flour. I also mixed in about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon sugar. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veekee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I used tart granny smith apples and it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States