Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
First time I made these I followed the recipe. They were fantastic, albeit a bit too sweet. Subsequent times I reduced the total amount of sugar and adjusted the ratio of white to brown sugar to create a more caramel-like sauce. It was trial and error, but we settled on 3/4c light brown sugar & 1/4 c dark brown to 1/2 cup white. We mix some cinnamon and nutmeg with the dark brown and stuff that into the apples. These are a new favorite dessert in my house, and so quick when using pre-made pie crust! Like any recipe that calls for sugar or spice, measurements can be adjusted to suit individual tastes. Also, like any recipe that calls for fresh fruit, baking times and temps may need to be adjusted based on fruit size, ripeness, oven, and location. Made these at least a dozen times and never had the same cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Shiepko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya Grady
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
OMG! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Grady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juliebug
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I used the brown sugar sauce mentioned in previous comment and added cinnamon oil and vanilla. I basted every 15 minutes. My hubby said he likes it better than Apple pie! The caramel sauce was killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliebug

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I actually cut the apples in half and made 12 of them. Not traditional maybe but a more reasonable and convenient portion size. I cooked it for the same amount of time because I wanted softer apples but if you're into a bit more bite cut down on the cooking time by a few minutes. Seriously though these were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I used frozen store-bought pastry and scaled it down to three apples. I don't have a coring tool so I used my slicer that also removes the core. It meant the slices cooked a bit faster too. I also tried these stuffings: fresh thyme with shredded mozzarella, pistachio and honey - should have added cinnamon and vanilla to the pistachio mix. For the sauce I heated butter and honey together - that's it! Poured it over the dumplings and then poured a half can of lemonade - made for a great sugar syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good recipe my family loved it. ONLY thing is I would cut the sugar in half next time it was very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Leach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Omg this recipe is amazing! I was a little nervous to try it but it was super easy and actually very fun to do! I did struggle with the crust part though. I've never really baked so I wasn't sure what the "pastry for a double crust pie" meant so I ended up buying some Pillsbury 2 pack crust. I tried using just one but that didn't work out so I ended up taking the second one out and using a cup to cut circles to go over the tops of the apples that didn't get covered with the first one. I was nervous about the sauce too because mine was super thin but trust me follow this recipe exactly because that sauce after it comes out the oven is divine (well even before it went it I was tasting it off the spoon...a couple times haha). I will definitely be keeping this recipe thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was AMAZING!!! I used basic flakey pie crust off this website for dough. It make enough for 4 apples. I had to run to the store after one bite to get some vanilla ice cream. It paired so well together. I loved the gooeyness the sugar water makes. Great great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I use to make these when I was younger, just getting into my cooking experimental stage, for dessert! I'd start them just before dinner, then take them out and serve them warm and delicious! My dad loved them! And so did everyone else! Thanks for bringing back warm memmories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
this was awesome as listed second time I made it I used a warm english custard sauce (Byrds) and it was heaven!! easy enough also if using premade crust !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States