Old Fashioned Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I made this recipe tonight, but I wasn't really in the mood for anything lemony or apricot-y, so I fiddled with the ingredients a bit and OMG it turned out sooooo awesome! I used the pre-baked pie shell, and made the cream cheese filling, but I omitted the lemon rind and added 1 tsp. of maple extract to the filling. Next, I sauteed the apples as in the recipe, but I omitted the lemon juice and added 1 tsp. cinnamon instead. I also omitted the preserves and made a baked streusel topping that I sprinkled on top of the apples. Everyone loved it, even my extra-picky son!! I'm running long here, so I'm going to write down exactly what I did, including the streusel topping recipe, and post it to this website under the heading "Maple Crunch Cream Pie". Thanks for the great recipe, Karen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This is fabulous, served with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
This was a wonderful wonderful pie. My family loved it!!!! I tweaked the recipe just a little bit (even when i resolve not to, i still do) I added a bit of cinnimon and vanilla to the apples. Not enough to overpower. It tasted really good with the lemon. And I left the lemon zest out. Only because I didn't have any. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I went to visit my moms house for thr first time with my soon to be husband. I had to bring something special as well as good can get! This was perfect!! Everyone had seconds!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I saw the exact recipe in an old issue of Taste of Home. This dessert turned out beautiful and delicious. I followed the recipe, but I forgot the lemon zest, it still turned out fabulous. Will definitely make again. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
The pie was amazing! I followed the directions almost exactly except that I used ready-made graham cracker pie shell. Thanks for the recipe, Karen! I will definitely bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Very good. I think it needs more apple topping so next time I will use 5 cups of apples instead of 4. Thanks for sharing this very nice recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this on a cookie sheet doubled the recipe, used 5 mac apples, adjusted baking time a little ( thinner pie) It turned out amazing....had to share the recipe...thanks sooooo much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binnggo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was fabulous. The only change I made the first time I made this was to leave out the lemon zest because my family doesn't like it. The custard is delicious and really goes well with the apples. I also like the fact that the apples are cooked on the stove and not in the oven. I have made this pie again adding cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples while cooking. With the addition of these two spices, I give this recipe a five-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States