Old Fashioned Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I made this recipe tonight, but I wasn't really in the mood for anything lemony or apricot-y, so I fiddled with the ingredients a bit and OMG it turned out sooooo awesome! I used the pre-baked pie shell, and made the cream cheese filling, but I omitted the lemon rind and added 1 tsp. of maple extract to the filling. Next, I sauteed the apples as in the recipe, but I omitted the lemon juice and added 1 tsp. cinnamon instead. I also omitted the preserves and made a baked streusel topping that I sprinkled on top of the apples. Everyone loved it, even my extra-picky son!! I'm running long here, so I'm going to write down exactly what I did, including the streusel topping recipe, and post it to this website under the heading "Maple Crunch Cream Pie". Thanks for the great recipe, Karen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This is fabulous, served with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
The pie was amazing! I followed the directions almost exactly except that I used ready-made graham cracker pie shell. Thanks for the recipe, Karen! I will definitely bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
This was a wonderful wonderful pie. My family loved it!!!! I tweaked the recipe just a little bit (even when i resolve not to, i still do) I added a bit of cinnimon and vanilla to the apples. Not enough to overpower. It tasted really good with the lemon. And I left the lemon zest out. Only because I didn't have any. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Very good. I think it needs more apple topping so next time I will use 5 cups of apples instead of 4. Thanks for sharing this very nice recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I went to visit my moms house for thr first time with my soon to be husband. I had to bring something special as well as good can get! This was perfect!! Everyone had seconds!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was all right. The filling tasted great but it filled up so much of the pie shell there was no room for fruit. It also didn't set up too well. But it tasted so good that I'll use it as a building block for another recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I didn't really care for this recipe and neither did the rest of my family. It was rather simple and quick to make, but we just didn't care for the overall product. Like another review said, this is a good building block to use for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CBARBUSCA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is really good, but you have to know that the cream part is quite lemony. I took a previous reviewer's advice and added some cinnamon, but probably should have added more. Also, I used more apples than it called for, and that worked out well. I made a plain regular pie crust, but next time, I would use something that added more flavor and crunch, like a crust made from vanilla wafers or graham crackers. If you don't like lemon, just skip the zest. You might consider using a little almond extract if you wanted a different flavor in the cream part, or possibly some apple pie spice if you wanted a stronger flavor from the apples. I will make this again, but I'll call it "Apple-Lemon Cream Pie" just so people aren't wondering why it tastes more like lemon than apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States