Old Fashioned Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This cake is fabulous and I am eating WAY too much of it! Can't stop. Served it for my book club meeting and everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the directions precisely and it is moist and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Really good flavor even if a bit oily. Tastes less oily if you don't refrigerate. Will make again but will use a lot less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is the best recipe!!!! Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Holden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This cake was ok, i dont see myself making it again anytime soon. The baking time is way too long, it was dried out and I even pulled it out ten minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This cake is EXCELLENT! When I make this up I have to make 2, one for my mother and one for my uncle! They say its just like they used to make em! I don't add the coconut or nuts or the glaze and just make the cake...Doesn't last for long in this home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful cake. Loved the coconut in it and the sauce is what really makes the cake. Next time I will poke something into the cake to get the sauce to go to the bottom. I made it exactly like the recipe says except I dusted the finished cake with powdered sugar. LATER; Today I made this cake again and used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. It is just perfect! It's a great way to cut some fat and still get the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I did not like this at all. I am starting to think maybe I did something wrong, but I don't think so. It is very dense and has a strange consistency. Somehow I don't really like the taste either, but I don't know why because there is nothing out of the ordinary in it. Maybe it's the OJ? Can't put my finger on it, but not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
delicious!!!really moist and taste excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was a great recipe in which my husband gave a 10/10. I didn't make the frosting portion but served it as is and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States