Old Fashion Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Wow! Absolutely delisious! This bread baked up beautifully. A wonderful texture, color and flavor. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justpeter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Very good one ! Definitely it needs more flour, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Excellent. I had to add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup more of flour. It also reminded me of the bread my grandmother used to make so I added raisins, green and red cherries and cut up glazed pineapple. It was absolutely deliscious. I also told my aunt and mother about it and my aunt went out and bought a breadmaker to make this bread. They both love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This dough was the most beautiful dough ever to come out of my bread machine. I let it rise in the pan 30 minutes before baking. The bread was smooth and dense, but not too dense. Molasses flavor was a little more subtle than I would have liked, but I'd be afraid to monkey with the proportions, because the consistency was ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very, very good and so easy... I haven't changed a thing and was pleased with the results. I did add a little more flour, but only on my board when shaping the dough into a loaf. The loaf is easily gone in one day, so it is pretty rewarding to make as none is wasted here. My son wants me to make it everyday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Texture was nice, but bread was simply too bland for us. I'm sorry! =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I found this bread heavy, dry and didn't taste much like molasses bread I have had in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Pretty good. I was busy last night, so I just put it on the bake cycle (I usually use the dough cycle and bake in the oven), and it cooked up well in the bread machine. Bf didn't like it that much--maybe the molasses flavor?--otherwise I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Absolutely terrific! I cut the water way back...actually put in a 2-cup measuring cup: 1/4 cup molasses, 2 T. light margarine and then filled with water to the 1 1/4 cup mark...worked great in my Zo...a tall, soft loaf with a chewy crust...even several days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States