Old English Cream Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The recipe was easy to follow, I followed it exactly. The taste was okay but I didn't really care for the texture. I was not alone in my opinion, 4 of the other five people who tried it agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Made this last night and my first thought was that the dry ingred would be lumpy when added. They were a little bit but I used a whisk and they all came out. I used choc chips to make mine chocolate because they melt so easily with no lumps. I did think the filling was a little starch tasting before I added the choc chips. I may decrease corn starch a little next time. Once the chips were added and the filling cooled, the starch taste seemed to go away. It set up so beautifully, I had enough for two pies plus 3 big servings of pudding. I used a graham cracker crust with a layer of peanut butter crumbles (conf sugar & peanut butter) on the bottom and on top. I am serving it tonight as other reviewers thought it was better the next day. I make pies every week, cream and fruit and this one so far is a keeper. Unless the entire thing falls apart when I cut it, it is one of the best cream pie recipes I have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I needed a last minute pie filling for a family dinner, and this was easy to make and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
made a chocolate cream pie, looking smashing tasted better, so good, must try the other cream pies soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I thought that this pie filling tasted of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I have just made it for Old Years Eve. I left out the white sugar and added a 1 tbs of brown because I added white chocolate to the mixture while boiling. A need to know fact... you have to stir the mixture very fast when adding the corn starch otherwise you will get lumps. I served the cream in waffle ice-cream cones with marshmallows, shaved Cadbury's milk chocolate and home made caramel (from condensed milk). Decadent! South Africans add cinamon and the pie is then called Meltert or Milk Tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I made recipe for just one pie. I used 2 yolks and because I was a little short on cornstarch I supplemented with powdered sugar and cut back slightly on granulated sugar. Not big differences. I altered the cooking method slightly as I have not had luck with adding boiling milk to egg mixtures so I mixed all and simmered slowly to thicken stirring constantly and added butter and vanilla at the end. The result is an amazing tasting sweet cream!! This is my new recipe for any cream pie/pudding. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have used this filling for crepes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is DELICIOUS, I follow the cooking instructions exactly and it sets up perfectly with no lumps without fail. My favorite variation so far has been (for the 8 serving version) adding a square of semi-sweet bakers chocolate to the milk mixture and substituting peppermint extract for the vanilla extract at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
the texture of this pudding was fine right after cooking, but once it cooled, it was jiggly. will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States