Old English Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Something went terribly wrong with this recipe; my first AllRecipes flop. They came out like pancakes. The flavor was all right, but the cookies were pancake like and fell apart. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
A delicious spicy cookie! I didn't have semi-sweet chips on hand; I substituted white chocolate chips instead. My husband loves these cookies warm with a cold glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This cookie got mixed ratings. My husband and I enjoyed it, but the younger kids didn't. It tasted like a soft gingerbread cookie, with the coffee as an undertone. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This recipe is uniquely good and is best with light flavored tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
These cookies are absolutely delicious! My whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made these for a Christmas parade and they were devoured. I did omit the raisins and the cloves however. My grandmother's taste a lot like this and they are fantastic with coffee or without cold or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I made this recipe along time ago and it came out great and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These cookies are always a hit. Great with coffee or even red wine! They also keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This recipe looked so good. After adding only 3/4 cup of well-flavored coffee, the mixture looked far too sloppy - and so it was. I, too, baked a set of pancakes that ran off the sheets and burnt at the edges within 7 minutes. I followed the recipe to the letter. It is a shame to waste all these lovely and expensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
My daughter used this recipe as her first solo baking project for school. The batter prior to adding the coffee was very dense. She added the brewed coffee, hot (because the recipe did not say cold and it said brewed). The mix immediately became the consistency of a cake mix. So she put it in a 9" x 13" pan that was greased and floured, and baked it for 25 minutes. It came out fine. However, the flavor is very mild. (Not to my liking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States