Old English Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
These cookies are absolutely delicious! My whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
A delicious spicy cookie! I didn't have semi-sweet chips on hand; I substituted white chocolate chips instead. My husband loves these cookies warm with a cold glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Something went terribly wrong with this recipe; my first AllRecipes flop. They came out like pancakes. The flavor was all right, but the cookies were pancake like and fell apart. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This recipe is uniquely good and is best with light flavored tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This cookie got mixed ratings. My husband and I enjoyed it, but the younger kids didn't. It tasted like a soft gingerbread cookie, with the coffee as an undertone. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Alright! I would recommend using a larger bowl when making them as there is a lot of dough. I'm not sure how big they are supposed to be but mine made well over three dozen. They were better when they were fresh the first day. Once they cooled, the next day I thought they were too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
The taste is alright but the cookies come out quite flat and pancake-like as someone else mentioned. A cookie just doesn't look right unless it has some height to it. It smelled really good baking due to the cloves but unfortunately I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I've made these cookies plenty of times and I love how they come out soft and not too hard. I've made alot for my granny and she really enjoys them. Everytime I make them I get so addicted and want more of them. The ground cloves, raisins, brewed coffee gives it a great taste. When they come out of the oven I can smell the pleasant aroma. I will definately continue making these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
The flavor on these cookies is okay at best. I had hoped for much better. The bigger problem though is the use of too much leavening agent. The cookies were entirely too spongy. I would cut the baking soda and baking powder approximately in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Stanfill
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
My daughter used this recipe as her first solo baking project for school. The batter prior to adding the coffee was very dense. She added the brewed coffee, hot (because the recipe did not say cold and it said brewed). The mix immediately became the consistency of a cake mix. So she put it in a 9" x 13" pan that was greased and floured, and baked it for 25 minutes. It came out fine. However, the flavor is very mild. (Not to my liking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States