Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kari BO'B
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I forgot to add the cheese but no one missed it. I used mostly heavy cream and whole milk so the grits were very creamy. Good flavor but lots of steps, cleaning shrimp, cooking bacon and sausage and sautéed veggies. Good weekend meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari BO'B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolynb12
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I didn't realize how easy it would be. Oh my goodness...DELICIOUS;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolynb12

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
this recipe was the bomb. Com honey! wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauraR
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Best recipe for shrimp and grits!!! Beats out local charleston restaurants I have visited! Must try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Awesome!!!! Followed recipe, except cooked the grits in chicken broth..was very tasty!! First time making this. Will definitely be making this again. Family loved it!! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made it as written and both my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
If you want to cut some of the fat (and calories) without compromising taste, here are a couple suggestions: - Add 1 cup of 2% milk to the grits when you would have added the half-and-half, and keep on low heat while you make everything else. Every few minutes as it thickens, add a little more lowfat milk, so you end up using 2 C lowfat milk instead of 2 C half-and-half. Add cheese per recipe. - Chop up your bacon and cook it in the skillet/pan until browned, then remove with a slotted spoon. Add your sausages and brown them a little, and remove them with a slotted spoon. Then add your 1/4 C flour to the pan you cooked the meat in, whisking so that you have a thick roux. (If your bacon was really lean you might add 1 TBL of butter.) Cook and stir over med-low until it's medium brown, then increase heat to med-high & add all your vegetables into the roux, stirring for 5-8 minutes until they're soft. Add the chicken broth and Worcestershire, cooking veggies a few minutes while the sauce thickens and they cook a little more, then add back the sausage, bacon and the shrimp and cook until shrimp are done. You will cut out 70 grams of fat and 475 calories by making these small changes, without compromising taste at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Great recipe overall. **IF** I were to change anything next time, I would reduce water to 2 1/2 cups (slightly thicken the grits) and decrease the sausage to 3/4 cup (increase shrimp to sausage ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this after having sampled the cuisine in New Orleans, which included Shrimp and Grits. This is the most delicious dish I have ever made. I'm not even kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olalekuche
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I love shrimp and grits and have been looking for a recipe that makes it like in the south (I grew up in GA). The recipe is the best I've tried. I did skip the andouille sausage and it still came out great. Even my husband who grew up in the NE loved it. Definitely making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States