Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was fantastic - served it to guests last night and they said it was just about the best thing I had ever cooked. Minor change - I just put the sausage in with the peppers without browning it since it was precooked, and I seared the shrimp separately so they would be crisp. I didn't bother with the sauce because I cooked the peppers really well and there didn't seem a need for more sauce. Great recipe - better than any shrimp and grits I've had at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPRANO39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is definitely a keeper. We served to our "gourmet club" (a group of friends who have been enjoying good food together for 25 years) and it was a real hit. I didn't change anything about the ingredients and found it very flavorful as written. I did, however, rearrange the instructions to make for some ease in finishing it at the last minute. Bacon can be fried early in the day and then veggies sautéed in the bacon grease. Roux made ahead. Sausage browned and cooked veggies added--even the roux and broth, w sauce, can be added. All you need to do then is start your grits and add the shrimp to the sausage, veggie, bacon mixture until it cooks through. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe brought back dear memories and surpassed them! One of the most flavorful things I have ever made... or eaten period. The heavy cream in the grits made it so much richer, and the flour really soaks up the flavor in the shrimp mix. great left over as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Delicious! Per the other reviews, I used chicken broth instead of water for the grits. I also omitted the half and half. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Great very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
First of all this tasted amazing. Really good dish to have a couple times a year to just say the heck with eating healthy. That said...it is a bit involved so be prepared. The only thing I did different was use only 1 pound of shrimp (plenty) because they were expensive. I fed 3 adults and 2 kids on it and had some leftover. Oh, and for the grits/liquid measurement I adjusted to what I know works; 1 to 4 ratio comes out perfect every time. 1 cup grits, 4 cups liquid. Came out perfect in 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This dish was AMAZING! Who knew I could cook like this?! Lol. I used chipotle sausage & I omitted the bacon. I can't even imagine how much MORE amazing it would have been if I had the bacon! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe was simply amazing!! I used seafood broth rather than water in the grits which gave it a good flavor. My family absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great recipe and easy to follow. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayesha Hasan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Absolutely loved this. We made a slight mistake by making the grits according to the instructions on the box (instead of the recipe)so missed the half and half. Also added a little fresh basil to the veggies as they were simmering. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly... huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States