Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Delicious! I used creole smoked sausage because I couldn't find andouille, and I am glad I did. The spices in the sausage really enhanced the flavor. Also, garnished with some chopped cilantro which added a fresh element to an otherwise very heavy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Delicious & so hearty/filling. Next time, i will cut back on cayenne or omit altogether. I prepped everything early in the day & cooked the sausage & bacon. Made cooking later a breeze. Made as written for 6. My first time to eat shrimp and grits and it will now be a favorite at least a couple times a year! I wasn't sure what to serve with it so i just made corn muffins & served with a glass of white wine. I can easily see making this for guests, it's that good. Far surpasses a meal in a restaurant. Thank you for posting this mouthwatering recipe. I am considering eating this leftover for breakfast. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This recipe was exceptional. I did not have to make any modifications. I had a brunch for my mother and by far this was the favorite dish of my guests. They could not stop raving about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Another raving fan here, this recipe is amazing. It was my first time ever making grits and I am so glad i tried something new! My husband loved it too. I used vegetarian sausage and no bacon,(I'm pescatarian) and it didn't miss any flavor without that stuff. Great way to introduce grits to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
It was delicious!! I use the same ingredients but change a little prep and cook steps. I prep everything first it took me about 1 hr but it made the cooking easy. I had a problem understanding making the the grits. Then I realized that I needed to cook the grits on medium for 20 mins instead of bringing to boil and dropping the heat to low for 20 mins. I think that 8 serving was good for the meat/vegetable mix but you may need to double the grids amount. If you like grids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was one of the dishes at my Easter brunch, truly enjoyed by all! I did tweak slightly, added a bay leaf at the veggie saute step, made a quick seafood stock using the shrimp shells and water instead of the chicken broth, and added some cubed ham because it was Easter. Yes the roux does make it very thick, I just added more stock to loosen it back up. Next time I'll just make half the roux or just not use it all. Added this to my recipe box - excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
great..didn't use red/yellow pepper.but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soupranopam
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This was the best dish Ive ever made. It made me love to cook again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Amazing recipe! I don't even usually like grits and I ate every bit of this recipe - two helpings. The seasonings were perfect and the depth of flavor was outstanding. Make this recipe as written and Don't change a thing; you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari BO'B
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I forgot to add the cheese but no one missed it. I used mostly heavy cream and whole milk so the grits were very creamy. Good flavor but lots of steps, cleaning shrimp, cooking bacon and sausage and sautéed veggies. Good weekend meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari BO'B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States