Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
If you want to cut some of the fat (and calories) without compromising taste, here are a couple suggestions: - Add 1 cup of 2% milk to the grits when you would have added the half-and-half, and keep on low heat while you make everything else. Every few minutes as it thickens, add a little more lowfat milk, so you end up using 2 C lowfat milk instead of 2 C half-and-half. Add cheese per recipe. - Chop up your bacon and cook it in the skillet/pan until browned, then remove with a slotted spoon. Add your sausages and brown them a little, and remove them with a slotted spoon. Then add your 1/4 C flour to the pan you cooked the meat in, whisking so that you have a thick roux. (If your bacon was really lean you might add 1 TBL of butter.) Cook and stir over med-low until it's medium brown, then increase heat to med-high & add all your vegetables into the roux, stirring for 5-8 minutes until they're soft. Add the chicken broth and Worcestershire, cooking veggies a few minutes while the sauce thickens and they cook a little more, then add back the sausage, bacon and the shrimp and cook until shrimp are done. You will cut out 70 grams of fat and 475 calories by making these small changes, without compromising taste at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Great recipe overall. **IF** I were to change anything next time, I would reduce water to 2 1/2 cups (slightly thicken the grits) and decrease the sausage to 3/4 cup (increase shrimp to sausage ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this after having sampled the cuisine in New Orleans, which included Shrimp and Grits. This is the most delicious dish I have ever made. I'm not even kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olalekuche
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I love shrimp and grits and have been looking for a recipe that makes it like in the south (I grew up in GA). The recipe is the best I've tried. I did skip the andouille sausage and it still came out great. Even my husband who grew up in the NE loved it. Definitely making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valpcat
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Delicious! Replaced the bell peppers with kale. Reduced the salt since the butter I had was salted. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shel
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Just tried this tonight and it was umm umm good!!! I am delivering some to my relatives tomorrow because I'm so siked about how good it turned out!!! The only thing I did different was used Cajun Chicken Sausage to add a little kick...PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I've never seen grits done exactly this way before, and it was incredible! This is the best recipe I have tried from this site so far. Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good and rich. Used Trader Joe's andouille sausage. Perfect for a special dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
One of our favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
amazing dishe..this now my favorite new receip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States