Oktoberfest Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I think this is the best chili I have ever had. My boyfriend liked it better than any that we have made, but didn't consider it the best ever. Delicious, worked as leftovers and we ate all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This turned out really well. I entered it in a small chili contest and won 2nd place! I followed directions exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious!! So good, I'm making it for a pot luck lunch. I'm sure everyone will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Marzello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made tons & I halved the recipe, so I gave some to neighbors. They liked it, but didn't rant nor ask for the recipe. Next time I'd omit tomatos, cumin, chili powder & do more of a white chili maybe add spaetzle, white beans, white pepper, parsley, mustard powder and beef broth. Also, I'll take sausage out of casings & have it be more ground, rather than chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosiesMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Wow! This chili was amazing. I was skeptical when I read the ingredients, but I decided to give it a try anyway since I had jalapeno & cheddar brats and sauerkraut to use up. I took the advice of another reviewer and used a can of Rotel in substitute of the jalapenos, bell pepper and one can of the petite diced tomatoes. I didn't have a German-style beer on hand, so I used an Irish red that I had in the frig. Incredible! I might even prefer this to “traditional” chili. My friend that doesn’t like sauerkraut even loved it. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teneil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Made this for our neighborhood Oktoberfest dinner tonight. Followed the recipe exactly - except used large brats which I do not think are links - and it turned out fantastic. I do not like sauerkraut, but my husband does - so I figured he would like it, no problem - but I loved it too. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this for our annual Oktoberfest party and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This chili is much tastier than it sounds! An interesting play on your average pot of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made it for my friends.....absolute hit. The flavors are not what you are expecting when you put it in your mouth. They are so much better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I took the advice of another reviewer and left out the tomato sauce and this recipe still turned out to be so salty and acidic that we could hardly eat it. I was so disappointed! I never get heartburn and with this it only took one bite! I love brauts and sauerkraut, but from now on I'll stick to making them on their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States