Oktoberfest Chicken and Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This recipe is surprisingly good! The chicken wasn't very crispy when all was said and done, but I'm not surprised...I might cook it separately next time. Other than that, I made the recipe almost exactly as it said, including the cinnamon...the only substitution I had to make was to use apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar b/c I didn't have any when the time came to prepare this. The other comment I would make about this recipe is that it took longer for me to prepare than the recipe time said. 10 minutes for the bacon, 5 minutes for the apples/onions, 30 minutes for the chicken (I had to fry it in 3 separate batches), 8 minutes for the cabbage to soften, then another 10 minutes for the last step before the oven. That right there is just over an hour. Since I was trying to make this before my husband went to work, I turned the oven up to 380 degrees and baked it for 30 minutes...maybe that's why the chicken wasn't super crispy? Anyway, there's that. I'll definitely make this again the next time I receive a red cabbage head in my CSA box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccerjulie27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Just made the red cabbage and it was hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I was a bit skeptical but I really enjoyed this recipe. It was a tiny bit on the sweet side so I might reduce the brown sugar in the future but it was fine as is and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by macprep
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My family absolutely loved this. We had to keep them from piling their plates full! I used diced turkey breast (what I had leftover), dredged it with the flour mixture and fried briefly till a crispy texture. Also threw in some thinly sliced carrots and used cooking sherry, balsamic vinegar and Merlot because that's what I had. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejschmidgall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mackinaw, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My wife and I followed the recipe almost exactly, but made just a couple minor changes. We had a sweeter, spiced red wine open already, so we used that, and then cut back on the brown sugar a little. We also didn't do the cinnamon (the spiced wine actually had some cinnamon in it). Everything else we did just as written here, and it turned out fantastic. We would make this again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I love this recipe for it's simplicity. It's so easy to throw together (in one pot no less) and my guests enjoyed it with their beer. I threw in some caraway seeds to go with the German theme. Thanks Herbanspoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I really liked this. I did change it a little. I used one yellow onion and one red onion and caramelized them to add to the sweetness. After they were caramelized then I added the apples. Then I substituted honey for the brown sugar, white wine instead of red , 1/4 cup of white vinegar instead of 1/2 cup of wine vinegar, turkey bacon instead of bacon, two apples instead of one, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 1/2 teaspoon. The chicken I used was a whole cut up chicken. I did actually cook the cabbage separately from the chicken and then combined them when finished...that was just because my pan wasn't big enough. It was really really good. My husband and I liked it even more the second day. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
OMG. my family loved this.I doubled the recipe and did not put in the cinnamin.. My family is hard to please, and all of them loved it, and my husband had two plates..You have to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States