Okra with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is a good way to use okra. Made some really important changes to suite my personal preferences. First of all, the cayenne pepper amount listed here is too intense for me. I cut the amount down to ¼ tsp and added 1 Tbs sugar for a little bit of balance. Fresh okra was also used as opposed to frozen. For those of you worried about the slimy consistency that comes with cooking fresh okra, don’t concern yourself. When cooked, the tomatoes release a liquid which form a sauce that conceal it. I’m not the biggest fan of stewed tomato chunks. I replaced it with two fresh diced tomatoes and blended it with the canned diced tomatoes. Adding ¾ cup of corn not only added a playful color, but some crisp. Season well and cover for the last couple minutes of cooking. This is a nutritious recipe and a nice way to get your veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Made this recipe tonight. I like it because it used frozen okra and that is usually what I have on hand. I didn't have any cayenne pepper....I used about 1/2 teaspoon of paprika and also crushed red pepper to taste. I had home canned tomatoes...so I used a I quart jar of those and four fresh chopped small tomatoes. I didn't need sugar cause these tomatoes are sweet. I added 1 finely chopped jalapeno. I used 1 1/2 small onion and 4 big cloves of garlic. I added extra bottled hot sauce on top when I ate it and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Good recipe. I took advice of others and cut the cayenne in half and it still had plenty of heat. I added a little extra garlic after tasting it halfway through cooking and it added a little more flavor. I couldn't get an 8oz can of diced tomatoes, so I used a 14.5oz size. The few extra tomatoes can't hurt! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyCan'tCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I added Chipotle Beef Sausage, Fiesta Corn, and mexican style Rotel with Lime and Cilantro. What a winner! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe! A litttle spicy but very good. I love making a huge pot and then freezing in individual containers to use at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My boyfriend and I absolutely love this recipe. I make it exactly as written except that I add a can of tomatoes with jalapenos instead of plain diced tomotoes. It is wonderful and tastes even better the next day, after the flavors have developed and blended more. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
GREAT RECIPE...YUMMY,YUMMY,YUMMY..MADE A BIG DIFFERENCE WITH THE CORN..MY HUSBAND LOVED IT,WILL DEFINATELY MAKE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN....LOVE OKRA..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love summertime for all the wonderful okra and tomatoes! This is a wonderful recipe and yes, fresh corn is really good in it! I've also made a "drier" version of this with chopped, seeded fresh tomatoes and put it in an omelet! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My mother use to make this with her fresh okra and tomatoes. I have made it, too. It is so good with fresh peas and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I would add corn to this. It would taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States