Okra with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Five stars because someone else told me it is. I used half the cayenne, which I think is probably enough for most people, but it won't be hot. Used only a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes but threw in some romas from last summers garden to chunk it up. Skipped the green pepper and didn't miss it. This recipe goes well with fish like haddock or tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is a great dinner when paired with rice. Our 1 year old daughter loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice2883
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
My aunt used to make this all the time and i loved it even though i couldnt stand okra! I decided to make it on my own and it turned out great! I only used diced tomatos and left out the stewed but it was all the same. I also put this over some yellow rice (although the rice was the wrong kind) it turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice2883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I use fresh okra and add a pinch of sugar to bring out the natural sweetness in the ingredients. I serve with Tobasco and my husband loves it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was really very good. Used fresh garden tomatoes because I had them. Added about 1/2 cup celery since I didn't use the stewed tomatoes. Also added 1/2 cup instant brown rice and 1 cup water to make it a little bit more "substantial". Will be great for lunch or as a side dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I made this with fresh okra (sliced then soaked in milk for 15 mins to get rid of the sliminess) and canned diced tomatoes and fresh. This was a nice fresh-tasting side dish. I think some corn would work well with it too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This makes a nice side dish. I used fresh okra because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I've made many variations of this side dish, but this one stands out with the cayenne pepper. Being a fan of it, I was extra generous with the amount I used. Very tasty and it had the perfect kick. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Very good! I would use 1/2 the cayenne pepper next time - a little too hot for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States