Okra Stew with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I personally had the urge to add more onion and I just had to add garlic. I couldn't see adding the corn as I'm not very much of a corn lover. It's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Okra, shrimp and corn - what could be better! This definitely has to have garlic in it, at least at my house. I used stewed tomatoes with chilis instead of fresh and threw in a little white wine because I liked the idea. The only thing wrong with the instructions was the part about "chill before serving". It tasted too good to wait that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elida, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Excellent! I used canned tomatoes and that saved a lot of time. Garlic is a must. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Very tastey. I added red pepper flakes for some real heat, and some leftover chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
changed so many things around with this recipe, I'm going to submit my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
MMM! This was very good and unique! I made the following changes: canned corn, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, petite salad shrimp, and omitted bay leaf and chile pepper. I did add red pepper for the spice! This was very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Disappointing. The vegetables were still cruncy - try cooking for 20 minutes before adding the shrimp. The flavors were a little uninteresting - probably could have used some garlic. I used canned corn, a large can of diced tomatoes, and more okra than the recipe called for, plus some red pepper flakes for some more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
as an old cajun living in south louisiana, this stuff is horrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
We love this recipe! I change a few things though. We add summer sausage and chicken instead of shrimp. I also dice up a jalapeno or two and toss in the mix. I use onions instead of shallots and add an extra red bell pepper. After cooking it all up we serve it over rice...very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States