Okra Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Very interesting recipe. I used less bacon and cooked the onion in olive oil to make this a little lighter. Some tips to avoid okra getting slimy: 1)Sprinkle okra with vinegar and salt and let it stand for a couple of hours or even up to a day. Rince well before using. Or 2)place okra in a non-stick pan and cook it alone in high temperature for a few minutes (until it starts changing colour). Remove from hit and add it to the rest of the incredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
A great change of pace. The flavors blend well. The wife and I really liked this recipe. I followed the directions exactly. It came out perfect. I diced the bacon before I fried it. That saved some time. The next time I will add some tomatoes and some garlic. Thanks posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very bland....needs some seasoning to kick it up. Considering the okra, I think cajun seasoning would work well, will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had never made anything with oakra, but loved it. It thought it might be a little bland, so I added fresh minced garlic and cooked it with the onion. I also added a can of diced tomatoes, salt and pepper. My Mother-in-law thought it was delicious!!! I will definately make it again, maybe with more tomatoes and basmati rice. I also cooked mine a little longer...different and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving -- a group of over 20. They all said by far that this was the best side dish at the table. I was really impressed, I am going to use this recipe and pass it on. It is going to become part of our tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
YUM! This is awesome either alone or as a side. Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I love this recipe, I used a frozen veggie mix with okra. I added a boullion for extra flavor. Good choice for non rice lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I love fried okra, so I thought I'd try this. I pretty much followed the directions. Because of the long cooking times, my okra was not slimy which is what I was looking for. It made a good pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I wanted a vegetarian side dish, so I left out the bacon and added a few splashes of liquid smoke flavoring to this, and cooked the onions in a bit of EVOO. Very good, easy, and a great accompaniment to the Indian Dahl I was serving it with. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was a good little recipe, and it reminded me of a jambalaya. I followed the recipe closely, only I boiled a large fresh tomato just enough to where the skin peels off. I then chopped it up and added it to the pan. Only used 3 slices of bacon, (a whole pound would be too artery clogging for my palate). I also seasoned with garlic salt. Was very good, & I liked it better than a jambalaya because it didn't have a terrible fishy taste. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States