Okra Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Easy and pretty good. Definitely had that okra slime, but still good as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
A great change of pace. The flavors blend well. The wife and I really liked this recipe. I followed the directions exactly. It came out perfect. I diced the bacon before I fried it. That saved some time. The next time I will add some tomatoes and some garlic. Thanks posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Very interesting recipe. I used less bacon and cooked the onion in olive oil to make this a little lighter. Some tips to avoid okra getting slimy: 1)Sprinkle okra with vinegar and salt and let it stand for a couple of hours or even up to a day. Rince well before using. Or 2)place okra in a non-stick pan and cook it alone in high temperature for a few minutes (until it starts changing colour). Remove from hit and add it to the rest of the incredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very tasty! My kids and I loved it. Next time I would add more rice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Very different. I did add a bit more rice, I'd say the total amount was 1 1/2 cups. I also threw in some Zataran's Creole Seasoning for extra flavor. I omitted the water altogether, since the rice just absorbed the chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe, NCREE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I have to say my hubby and I weren't impressed with this side. It was okay; just bland. I would recommend adding the bacon as a topping rather than cooking it with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I added some cooked shrimp at the end to soak up some of the bacon and okra flavors and had a delicious main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very bland....needs some seasoning to kick it up. Considering the okra, I think cajun seasoning would work well, will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
My family loves this southern recipe, is alot like gumbo except with out shrimp or chicken, we have this at least twice a month. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I love fried okra, so I thought I'd try this. I pretty much followed the directions. Because of the long cooking times, my okra was not slimy which is what I was looking for. It made a good pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States