Okra Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Easy and pretty good. Definitely had that okra slime, but still good as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
A great change of pace. The flavors blend well. The wife and I really liked this recipe. I followed the directions exactly. It came out perfect. I diced the bacon before I fried it. That saved some time. The next time I will add some tomatoes and some garlic. Thanks posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Very interesting recipe. I used less bacon and cooked the onion in olive oil to make this a little lighter. Some tips to avoid okra getting slimy: 1)Sprinkle okra with vinegar and salt and let it stand for a couple of hours or even up to a day. Rince well before using. Or 2)place okra in a non-stick pan and cook it alone in high temperature for a few minutes (until it starts changing colour). Remove from hit and add it to the rest of the incredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very tasty! My kids and I loved it. Next time I would add more rice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Very different. I did add a bit more rice, I'd say the total amount was 1 1/2 cups. I also threw in some Zataran's Creole Seasoning for extra flavor. I omitted the water altogether, since the rice just absorbed the chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe, NCREE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I have to say my hubby and I weren't impressed with this side. It was okay; just bland. I would recommend adding the bacon as a topping rather than cooking it with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I added some cooked shrimp at the end to soak up some of the bacon and okra flavors and had a delicious main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very bland....needs some seasoning to kick it up. Considering the okra, I think cajun seasoning would work well, will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
My family loves this southern recipe, is alot like gumbo except with out shrimp or chicken, we have this at least twice a month. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I love fried okra, so I thought I'd try this. I pretty much followed the directions. Because of the long cooking times, my okra was not slimy which is what I was looking for. It made a good pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States