Okra Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was great! I used brown minute rice to make it a bit healthier...it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good. I used the drippings off of some chicken I was browning instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had never made anything with oakra, but loved it. It thought it might be a little bland, so I added fresh minced garlic and cooked it with the onion. I also added a can of diced tomatoes, salt and pepper. My Mother-in-law thought it was delicious!!! I will definately make it again, maybe with more tomatoes and basmati rice. I also cooked mine a little longer...different and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This was my first time cooking okra and maybe I did something wrong, but this turned out bland a gooey. Maybe the okra got gooey because the rice took much longer to cook than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I love fried okra, so I thought I'd try this. I pretty much followed the directions. Because of the long cooking times, my okra was not slimy which is what I was looking for. It made a good pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
My family loves this southern recipe, is alot like gumbo except with out shrimp or chicken, we have this at least twice a month. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very bland....needs some seasoning to kick it up. Considering the okra, I think cajun seasoning would work well, will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I added some cooked shrimp at the end to soak up some of the bacon and okra flavors and had a delicious main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I have to say my hubby and I weren't impressed with this side. It was okay; just bland. I would recommend adding the bacon as a topping rather than cooking it with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Very different. I did add a bit more rice, I'd say the total amount was 1 1/2 cups. I also threw in some Zataran's Creole Seasoning for extra flavor. I omitted the water altogether, since the rice just absorbed the chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe, NCREE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States