Okra Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love this recipe! I sautéed the onion with evoo, salt, and pepper first. I also added some Adobo poultry seasoning and it gave it just enough flavor. I make this at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Haywood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Waterford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Love it! I love okra and I have a lot of Caribbean friends, so I've grown to love rice. This recipe was awesome! Although I followed the method to a "T", I modified it based on the ingredients I had on hand. (1) I used frozen okra, which I soaked in lemon water for 30 minutes and then drained, (2) I only used half an onion, (3) I had no broth, so I used water and bouillon cubes instead and (4) I had no bacon - I used store bought bacon pieces. My husband made okra rice for me before and I was always up for a challenge (to outdo him), so he was completely floored when he tasted it. Thanks for this recipe NCREE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoLowAtl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
My dish turned out great other than it needed just a little more seasoning for me. Everything else turned out just fine and I used minute rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I wanted a vegetarian side dish, so I left out the bacon and added a few splashes of liquid smoke flavoring to this, and cooked the onions in a bit of EVOO. Very good, easy, and a great accompaniment to the Indian Dahl I was serving it with. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I used brown rice (about 1-1/2 cups), just 4 slices of crumbled bacon, doubled the okra and added a can of fire-roasted tomatoes. WAS DELICIOUS and felt like a meal. But for my son, I served with poached chicken. Yum! This will be a rice staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very tasty and very different. My family looked at this and said, "Hum, what is it?" However, they all loved it. Had it with pork chops and it was a good complement. I added some of my own spices for extra flavor -some "file", garlic and pepper. It needed a little salt because I didn't use as much bacon. Had it left over for lunch today - umm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shorty6542

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I thought the recipe sounded great at first, but upon completion, it was virtually tastless. I added many spices, and a buillon cube for flavor, and then it was "edible". Not impressed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My boyfriend is not a huge okra fan so instead I used 1 red bell pepper, 3 cloves of minced garlic and grilled corn. Everything else was the same and our version was great! We also spiced liberally with tony chachere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Was very excited about finding this recipe, since my son loves okra. Followed the recipe exactly, but it was probably one of the worst dishes I have ever tried off this site. Ended up tossing what we couldn't force down, plus the rest of the pot. No flavor, a slimy slop, and mushy bacon, that was crispy before adding to dish. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States