Okra Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made this but left out the bacon. I added some Cajun gumbo ready-mix that I bought in New Orleans and it added just the right kick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this and I think it had way too much bacon. I this this would taste better with either sausage or ground beef instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Awesome recipe!! It definitely inspired me to get back in the kitchen!!! Although I did tweak it a bit... So.... Since its true that okra is "slimy" I started by caramelizing my onions with the bacon (once browned I set it aside) then in same pan with the bacon grease I added the okra and to add some more flavour I sprinkled a teaspoon of both ground dried ginger (you can use fresh if you have it) and ground turmeric powder to the mix... Once the okra stopped being slimy, I then added the rice, stirred it all around for a second or two to make sure it flavoured up and then added the water! Its delicious!!! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I thought, this was just what I was looking for as a side dish for baked fish. I read the recipe and knew it wouldn't work. First,you don't have to cook the okra to death, and boiling the bacon in the chicken broth with the okra is why so many found the dish bland. Second, you can cut the time in half by eliminating that whole step. I chopped up 6 slices of thick sliced bacon. Fried it until it was crisp. Removed all but a table spoon of the fat and two table spoons of the bacon bits. I added the onion, salt and pepper until it was soft. I added the rice and stirred it until the rice was opaque. I stirred in the chicken broth and okra. Reduced to a simmer and covered it. When the broth was absorbed, I took it off the heat and stirred in the rest of the bacon. I can't imagine using the extra water. It turned out great, and will be a regular in my house. My 95 year old dad even said "Hey, this is good." Better than that was when he wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I thought this dish was good but hubby didn't like it. I do have other rice sides that I like better, but this was good. Mine came out a little slimy but not in a bad way. I think you have to be in the mood to eat something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I cooked this recipe last night and it was AMAZING! I did add my own personal touches to it. I didn't have any bacon but I did have bacon grease from previous times that I have cooked so I added about 2 tablespoons of that. While I sauted the onions I added Goya seasoning. From then I followed the recipe as given but added a little seasoning salt and 2 cups of water as opposed to the 1.5 cups, when I added the rice. Without these seasoing I honestly believe that the recipe would be a little bland as reviewed by others. When most of the liquids had boiled out from the dish, I let it sit with the lid on, disturbing it none, to allow the stem to get into the rice and soften it. Very easy, quick recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I followed the directions, took in the suggestion to dice the bacon before had and I also added garlic. I think my only botch up was that I used long grain brown rice and it took a lot longer to become fluffy than the 20 minutes as suggested by the recipe. Still, good flavour combinations throughout, I'll just try a different rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Went right by the recipe and it turned out great. Everyone loved the okra and rice. Being from the Low Country of SC, I think I will add some fresh shrimp next time. With or without shrimp, it's a meal all by itself. Ya'll enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Wow, I was really surprised at how bland this dish turned out. I guess it was my own fault since I made two changes to the recipes - I used no-salt bouillon + water instead of broth and a 1/4lb of bacon instead of a 1lb. A pound of bacon is just too much cholesterol in ANY recipe. So yeah, I did change the recipe, but if salt and fat are the only things making this recipe taste good, then why bother? I won't make this recipe again. I can't think how to fix it without making it a calorie and salt nightmare. Update: This dish is REALLY bad as leftovers. The flavors do not develop well. Nope, won't be making this again ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe extact and found it to be a little bland. Next time I will add some garlic or seasons. My family did enjoy it and I will make it again. Maybe with the seasonings it can be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States