Okra Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ahill0881
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These were delish!!! Although mine came out more like hushpuppies than patties. I did add a little garlic powder and cayenne. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a good recipe, and is very easy. I love okra this way. The women in my family have made it for generations. A variation on this recipe. Cut-up fresh okra finely, or use frozen, non-breaded. Place in a saucepan with water to cover, and boil for about ten minutes. Drain well, and use as the above recipe. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I used fresh okra and instead of salt I used garlic salt with parsley flaked and some Tony's Creole seasoning along with the pepper. Since it was my first time making it I am going to have to adjust the cooking method to be able to make the okra more tender, in some pieces it was kinda like pulling bones out of the fish you are eating. The taste was great though, I am sure with a couple adjustments this is going to be one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyCasey06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great recipe. Relatively fast prep time; easy to make. My husband loves them. I don't like okra because of the texture, but even I like these. I'm adding to my collection of best recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Great idea! We're more into Tex-Mex, so that might explain why my family didn't happen to care for the bland 'Southern' version (though I typically adore southern cooking). However, with 1/4 t extra salt, a good bit of garlic, cayenne, and chili powder, these were very good (reminded us of hush puppies somewhat). My husband actually loved them, especially topped with salsa verde - and he's not quick to like okra just any ol' way. He doesn't even often like fried okra. --- We had several leftover patties the next time that we had okra from our garden. I chopped both the okra (sliced as for fried okra) and the leftover patties, and sauteed them together. After the okra was no longer stringing off any goo, I sprinkled on a bit of lemon juice, and continued to saute for a bit. The result was like a simplified version of fried okra. I served them on the side with brown beans and salsa verde (yes, we love salsa verde, but when we run out, regular red salsa is good with beans, I hope that works as well with the okra one of these days - because the leftover pattie/fresh okra hash was amazingly good with the beans and salsa verde). -- BTW, the first time we made these, I diced them in large *mince*, which was not small enough. Now I mince them quite small by slicing them very thin and then working my chef's knife as if mincing herbs or garlic. It takes a little bit of time, but not terribly long, and I personally prefer that to cleaning okra out of any machine.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My toddlers both loved this dipped in ketchup, but to my taste it was a 3-star recipe. That said, I think it could be made into a 4 or 5 star recipe if I had formed it into thin patties instead of just slightly flattened spoonfuls. The tastiest part is the crunchy brown exterior, so I think a thinner patty would be better. If I make it again I will also add some garlic and a pinch of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
'Directions seemed "off" so I did what I thought was right: Combine dry ingredients. Combine wet ingredients. I subbed milk for the water. Combined okra & onions. Added wet to dry, then the vegs. I actually had a pound of thinly sliced okra (rather than a pound, finely chopped which implies to me that weight included the tops). With that in mind, it needed more salt - & some cayenne. When I make again, & I will with okra coming in strong, I'm trying 1 3/4t salt & 1/4t cayenne in with the flour. My recipe for cayenne salt: 1pt cayenne, 3 pts salt. Good to know if you've got kids who aren't so daring. Mine made about a dozen goodsized babies - done in half inch of oil for about 5 minutes on each side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
OK, so I didn't mince the okra. It was thin sliced. Maybe that was the problem. It was like okra hushpuppies. Maybe I'll try again and put the okra in the food processor, but it would just be easier to bread and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made these exactly following the recipe, and they tasted good. I can see other people's suggestions for adding extra spices being useful too. We served with some hot sauce. While they were good, they were pretty 'heavy' and I'm not sure if I'd make them again. But then again, I'm not a huge okra fan either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious & fun to make. Would recommend to all okra fans. Have substituted onion powder for chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss centennial

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States