Okra Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
OK, I tried to make these....even after reading the comments and found all of the comments about too much okra and too dry to be TRUE. However with okra that needed used I proceeded to see if I could salvage this dish. I used 1 lb. of okra sliced 1/4" thick; added all 6 pks of instant grits; salt and pepper, 1 tsp and 1/4 tsp respectively. I used the 2 eggs and about 3/4 cup of buttermilk. I did not use the tomato or onion, but in retrospect the onion would have been good--pureed. And if you did use tomato then I'd cut back on liquid. And cook time is 3-4 minutes per side. They were tastier if not cooked to death at 5 mins per side. In the end it was good and my family said they liked it better than just breading and frying okra like it is usually served. However mind did not look at all "batter-y" like the photo provided. I think that could be the type of instant grits or some flour was added to achieve that--my best guess. Either way the original recipe is not viable. But with some adjustments it can be very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This didn't go well for me. Disclaimer: I didn't use tomatoes or onions because nobody else in my family likes them. I think the biggest problem was the amount of okra. 2 lbs seems like WAY too much (at least when you don't use the other ingredients?) I could not seem to get them easily formed into patties at all. We tried adding more grits and another egg to no avail. Finally I was able to do a few by getting my hands wet under the sink. That seemed to give them enough moisture to work into pitiful crumbling masses. LOL. The end result wasn't horrible and the family ate them pretty well (nobody complained!) -- Overall, I would consider trying this recipe again, but I think next time I will only use 1 lb of okra and perhaps try adding another vegetable (like corn) to see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I just made this tonight using the okra, tomatoe, and onion from my CSA. It was delicious :). After reading other reviews, I added 3 eggs instead of 2. My fritters did not fall apart and were wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I love Okra anything! The flavor was good but they fell apart while I cooked them. I made as written maybe someone has a trick to make them stay together?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is the first time I ate okra, let alone cook it.It is a strange vegetable. The skin is tough and stringy. However, surprisingly this recipe turned out pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was such a big hit! I added a little bit of bacon grease. And I also precooked my onions and okra, just to soften it up a bit. My family demands that I make this again and again and again... UPDATE: I made these again last weekend with http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Grandpas-Tomato-Gravy/Detail.aspx , and it was a match made in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyOakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Different and if you love okra a wonderful something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have no idea what happened, but these were a failure. They fell apart while frying, but on the plus side, I love the incorporation of tomato in this. I've made variations of fritters before, but never with tomato. I might try this again sometime, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Hi Tiger: Sorry, I have not had time to try this recipe yet! Being from So.Georgia myself, I like okra prepared any way I can find it. I think this recipe is going to be wonderful. I will come back when I've tried it and update. Best wishes, Larry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States