Okra Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elliott
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a great curry recipe. The flavors are mild yet aromatic. The okra comes out crispy and full of flavor. There is a slight (very slight) kick at the end that I'm sure could be dialed up (doesn't need to be dialed back) and tastes great. This is so much easier to cook than many Indian recipes I find in recipe books. Nice job and keep submitting more great Indian recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Delicious! A great balance of flavors, it is spicy but not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonmot
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
You can add chili powder to make it spicier, and more chickpea flour to make it crispier. To avoid the stickiness, just be careful with how much you stir the okra (pre-cooking it in the microwave helps with this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Delicious curry! Subtle spice and flavoring- very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrcarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Verrry good recipe! I added rice and tomato to give it more bulk. It was delish. Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was a really good way to use okra from the garden. I added some ghost pepper to kick up the spice and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was excellent! I'm so excited to have an a new recipe for my garden-grown okra. Thanks for the tip about microwaving the okra. This dish came out perfectly, and the seasoning was great. (I substituted ground cumin for seed and wheat flour for chickpea flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Wow! This is really delicious - the curry flavor really is nice with okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I was lucky to have a small sample and will make this on my own soon! Previously my only recipes for okra were to add it to soup! I'm excited to have a new easy Okra recipe! The taste is slightly spicy and the Okra has a slight crunch- which is great for a side dish or with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger
Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I'm not a fan of okra, but I tried this dish because of the curry and yum... got to love the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States